FM Forum Rules
Macro World Resource

FM Forums | Macro & Still Life | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Lens Advice. please help a newbie

Jesse1981

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Lens Advice. please help a newbie

Hello there.
(re post from canon gear, This area seems more fitting)

Well this is my first post and I am extremely new to photography and am looking for some advice.
I am in the process of buying a camera (canon 7D) with 430EXII speedlight.
I really want to get into macro. Its probably my main interested. However portrait and other things would be good too.

So I am looking at the Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM Camera Lens for about $1000
Or the Tamron 18 - 270,, PZD for about $600
My budget only allows me to get one lens for now.

I know the tamron is not a macro lens and cant do 1:1. However if there is a way I can use it for macro it would be good as it is cheaper and much more versatile.

I've heard of lens reversal and tubes etc.
Can anyone give me some advice on which way I should go and my options.

Thanks heaps.

Jesse

Jan 11, 2012 at 04:57 AM
12monkeys
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Lens Advice. please help a newbie

The 100L is wonderful. I use it for macro and portraits of my son. If macro is your main interest, get a good macro lens, not something that can "get by". You don't have to get the L version if money is an issue but I've come to the conclusion that's it's cheaper in the long run just to buy the best from the outset.

Jan 11, 2012 at 06:45 AM
Bandi
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Lens Advice. please help a newbie

Welcome Jesse! Good to see a new face interested in macro.

This is one of those decisions that YOU need to be comfortable with, however if this will be your only lens, then the versatility offered by the Tamron may be the way to go. You could then add a set of extention tubes (kenkos are good and will set you back <$200) and still come in under the price of the 100L.