New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Japan vs Russia

Karlchen
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Japan vs Russia

I have the choice of visiting Russia and the Baltic with a tour group or visiting Japan with a friend this spring. Because of my interest in eastern Europe, my inclination is Russia and the Baltic (St. Petersburg, Moscow, Riga, Helsinki . . .). Although I am an amateur photographer, I will be carrying high-end equipment and will be concerned about personal safety, especially since I like to walk away from tourist venues and into areas where ordinary people live. I don't like the prospect of being mugged, which I think will be a higher risk in Russia than in Japan. Or am I being prejudiced against Russia? Staying with the tour goup will be an obvioius safety measure, but it would also impinge on my autonomy and my photography.

Any thoughts about this are welcome, especially from photographers who have visited Russia and the Baltic.

Many thanks.

Karl

Jan 01, 2012 at 12:33 PM
Mikeality

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Japan vs Russia

I visited St. Petersburg in August last year. Absolute magic place. The Paris of Eastern Europe. I went there with friends but we also split up sometimes to visit specific things of interest as there is only so much you can see in 1 week in the city heh. However, it's those times when alone, I've realised you are most vulnerable to pick pocketing (not so much being mugged or attacked).