Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2011 · WWYD - Bodies / Lens upgrade

LR-Radley

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · WWYD - Bodies / Lens upgrade

First off, forgive me, I know this has been asked over and over. I have searched online and read different posts here and other sites about this, but still feel clueless on what would be the best choice for me.

I had a 5d, sold it - felt it wasn't performing as I needed right now. I am not a pro, just a mom that likes photography, and having nice pictures of my kids / nature etc.

I found in low light conditions the af was too slow and the noise at higher (1600) ISO was just more than I like. I love the IQ and when I can get my kids to hold still or am able to get a free moment and go shoot something outdoors, the images were beautiful. I guess why it makes this such a hard choice for me.

I currently have a 35 f/2 & 50 1.4 that I use most. I also have a 28-135 that I just feel meh about.
I do find I need a longer reach when my kids are running quickly around the yard or at dance recitals, sports etc. So I was thinking of getting a 135L, but a zoom is tempting for it's versatility - of which I was leaning toward the 70-200 f/4 IS (not sure I'd be totally happy with this) but wish I could afford the 70-200 2.8ii.

Without writing you a book,
Should I -

* Get a t2i / 60d / 7d and some better glass (I'm torn on going back to a crop sensor after having the 5d, but the IQ is supposedly the same for those 3, as well as the video capabilities. The af system & fps on the 7d tempts me)

* Upgrade to the 5d mark ii and hold out on any new glass for now