New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2011 · What lens for a chopper?

MikeW
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · What lens for a chopper?

I'm going up in a chopper over thegrand canyon & was wondering if anyone has done the same & has a recommendation for whether a wide angle, telephoto, prime or zoom is best. Just shooting through glass like a tourist

Thanks,

Mike

Dec 09, 2011 at 07:43 PM
anthonysemone
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · What lens for a chopper?

Mike,

head over to the Mustang Air to Air Board. They are some international pros over there who will be glad to give you the scoop.

Dec 09, 2011 at 08:09 PM
OccAeon
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · What lens for a chopper?

I'm no pro, but if you are shooting through glass windows on a bright day, don't forget the polarizer (cuts right through the reflections -- you can't even tell there is glass, if it is clean/clear).

Dec 10, 2011 at 07:34 AM
LLondon
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · What lens for a chopper?

Used a 24-70 this day in a small plane. This was at 70 from about 2000ft. A 24-70 would be as large as I would go due to space. If your right next to the window you will be hitting it with a longer lens. If your in the middle you would be hitting other people.

_DSC7219-2 by L.London, on Flickr

+1 on the MA2A

Dec 10, 2011 at 08:17 AM
Two23
• • • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · What lens for a chopper?