Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2011 · Question On Use of Filters?

tarheel
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Question On Use of Filters?

I have enjoyed photography for forty years and I have an understanding of f-stops, shutter speeds, and ISO/noise. I have never seriously shot "Landscape" photography and I have little knowledge of filters. What's a good reference to read to grasp an elementary level of knowledge on this subject?
Books or websites would be both be considered.
I shoot with the Nikon system and I have the 14-24 f 2.8 lens and I am well aware of the problem of using filters with this specific lens - and a costly solution (or partial solution) via the Lee SW150 holder specifically designed for this lens. I am contemplating a new wide angle lens that is more "filter friendly". I have a heavy duty Gitzo tripod w/Markins M20 ball head. I don't own a single filter other than the Nikon 77mm Polarizer.
This question might be too broad for a good answer - but, if you are a hobby/amateur shooting primarily landscape photography how many filters would be in a useful kit?
Thx,
Bill

Dec 02, 2011 at 02:47 PM
ckcarr
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Question On Use of Filters?

Two.
Graduated neutral density and polarizer.

You don't necessarily need a wide angle for landscapes. Looking at your profile you shoot a D300? And you have fine lenses. I never filter when using my 14-24 and it doesn't seem to need it, but do with other lenses. I'd focus on that. Get a 77mm GND, buy a 16-35mm, or a 10-24mm, 12-24mm for when you want to filter wider. Or don't bother.

Dec 02, 2011 at 03:44 PM
Taylor Reed

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Question On Use of Filters?