New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2011 · Big Blue - ocean landscape

WiLLGT09
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Big Blue - ocean landscape

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting in Photo Critique, but I felt like I sharing some shots and getting some feedback on technique, post-processing, etc.

This first shot is a ocean landscape that I took, wow, almost a year ago, and I've always really like how it came out, but was curious what other people thought about it and about the post-processing on it. I feel like I add too much vignetting on a lot of more "artistic" shots. This one is no exception. Thoughts?

big blue by William Brawley, on Flickr

Canon 1D Mark II N, 24-105L @ 24mm, f/5.6, 1/2000 sec, ISO500 (for some reason?)

Thanks! I plan to post up a few more later.
William

Nov 22, 2011 at 03:03 PM
sbeme
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Big Blue - ocean landscape

I hope to look at this later on my home monitor. Much better than at work.
One thing I would consider is correcting the wide angle lens distortion to reduce the curvature of the image. If, on the other hand, you like it, I'd exaggerate it much further.
I dont mind the vignette, but if you use automatic lens profile correction in ACR/LR, the vignetting will probably be lessened.
Scott

Nov 22, 2011 at 03:11 PM
WiLLGT09
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Big Blue - ocean landscape

Yeah, I am at work at the moment too. The original file is at home on my hard drive. I am almost 100% positive I enabled LR3 lens profile correction on this. I added the vignetting in later.

As for adjusting for the lens distortion, wouldn't the lens profile correction take care of that? Should I tweak the correction further?

Is there a rule-of-thumb for vignetting in photos, or does it just depend on if the shot calls for it or if you think it helps guide the viewers' eyes to a particular part of the photo?

Thanks!
William

Nov 22, 2011 at 03:16 PM