New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2011 · Seeking Advice: Canon ef 8-15mm vs 14mm

jmponfil
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Seeking Advice: Canon ef 8-15mm vs 14mm

I am contemplating a wide angle lens for my 5D mk II. I am struggling between the 14mm L II and the 8-15mm L. Chances are excellent that I will not be purchasing another wide angle lens for along time. Currently on the wide end, I have a 17-40 L and a 24-70 L. I have no experience with either of the lenses I am inquiring about. The lens will be primarly used for landscapes and maybe some portrait shots to get separation and include cool backgrounds. My photography is primarily nature and wildlife, and I am only an amateur photographer.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Jason

Nov 21, 2011 at 12:51 PM
photoman333
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Seeking Advice: Canon ef 8-15mm vs 14mm

The 14mm is an ultra-wide lens that is corrected for distortion. However, the 8-15 is a FISHEYE lens, which will give the image a round, distorted look.

By what you're going to be using the lens for, the 14mm would be the way to go.

Jason

Nov 21, 2011 at 01:46 PM
jmponfil
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Seeking Advice: Canon ef 8-15mm vs 14mm

Thanks photoman,

Some of the pictures I saw from the 8-15 looked pretty normal at the 15mm end. Was wondering how the images compare to the 14mm, if anyone knows.

Jason

Nov 21, 2011 at 03:11 PM
WiLLGT09
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Seeking Advice: Canon ef 8-15mm vs 14mm

Check this review: http://www.The-Digital-Picture.com/Reviews/Canon-EF-8-15mm-f-4-L-USM-Fisheye-Lens-Review.aspx