New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2021 · $0.38 per photo!

marks1953

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · $0.38 per photo!

I have been a wedding photographer for over 20 years. Due to Covid I have done very few weddings in the past 12-18 months. I would like to look at the possibility of selling landscape prints or images. I live in a very picturesque location, beaches, ocean, white sand etc.
Anyone on here got any suggestions on how to do this? Marketing? Instagram? Facebook? what about Stock photography? I joined Alamy but a lot of photographers on their forum are complaining about getting $0.38 per photo!
I live in Australia. How to get a print orders from a website up and running?
How do people get to sell their photos?

Sep 18, 2021 at 11:13 PM
mdude85
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · $0.38 per photo!

Stock and Instagram are not good ways to make money. In fact you probably won't make any money from Instagram, and what you make from stock will likely not be enough to even offset the huge time investment to get your stock portfolio up and running.

My advice is wait it out, because weddings will come back. Further, there are other session photography opportunities out there -- engagement shoots, pets, children, interiors, headshots, corporate events, etc.

Sep 22, 2021 at 02:08 PM
story_teller
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · $0.38 per photo!

Hopefully your government will begin to lift some of the heavy rules regarding the lockdown in your country. In the meantime all I can say is do what you can do remotely. You might contact your previous wedding clients (if you still have the images) with discounted print packages, albums, etc, of their weddings. Just a thought. Some may be in a better financial position than they were when first married or might like a new album, tabletop book, etc.

Sep 23, 2021 at 06:39 AM
thedruid