fredmiranda.com
Login

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
  New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist
  

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

       2       end
  

Archive 2012 · PM from Fred ?

  
 
sritri
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · PM from Fred ?


What to make of the PM from Fred about try2get ?


Jan 30, 2012 at 02:55 PM
Danpbphoto
Offline
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · PM from Fred ?


Well when they asked for control of my computer, I denied it at once!
As of 2/1/2012..Norton has traced header info and virus to Google,2mdn.net. for PM from faux Fred.

Edited on Feb 01, 2012 at 09:05 PM · View previous versions



Jan 30, 2012 at 02:56 PM
DanBrown
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · PM from Fred ?


I got one also. I think someone has either hacked the site or otherwise gotten Fred's password. I doubt the PM is legitimate. In all my years at FM, I cannot recall a single instance where Fred has sent a PM to all members.


Jan 30, 2012 at 02:56 PM
formula4speed
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #4 · PM from Fred ?


I received one as well. Looks like his (Fred's) account may have been hacked. I'd advise not clicking the link, could be just spam, but it could be some kind of phishing. Another member got an email from FM with a similar link.


Jan 30, 2012 at 02:57 PM
sritri
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #5 · PM from Fred ?


thought so. Googling about it was not so fruitful but seems like an adult webcam thingie.


Jan 30, 2012 at 02:59 PM
Skarkowtsky
Offline
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #6 · PM from Fred ?


Just received and deleted it.

You know, back in April 2011, FM forums crashed my PC, gave me a nasty virus and trojan. I think Fred's site has been under attack for a while. Every now and then, if you enter a forum thread through a google search, you get the Firefox (if you're using it) red screen, warning you against entry.



Jan 30, 2012 at 03:00 PM
snapsy
Online
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #7 · PM from Fred ?


PM looked suspicious so I opened up its link in a sandboxed Virtual Machine. The page reads "Free 20 Mins DirectChat WebCam, Amateur" and there's a photo of a young child on the page. The page also instructions visitors to "Activate Java Runtime Environnement to enjoy the full accebility" and has launches for some flash applets. Wouldn't be surprised if the page incorporates a browser/system attack. Looks sketchy obviously - don't click on the link.


Jan 30, 2012 at 03:07 PM
Spydweb
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #8 · PM from Fred ?


Me to crap !!!!!!!!!


Jan 30, 2012 at 03:08 PM
ShootTheDream
Offline

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #9 · PM from Fred ?


Skarkowtsky wrote:
Just received and deleted it.

You know, back in April 2011, FM forums crashed my PC, gave me a nasty virus and trojan. I think Fred's site has been under attack for a while. Every now and then, if you enter a forum thread through a google search, you get the Firefox (if you're using it) red screen, warning you against entry.



God bless Mac OSX! I take these days of not worrying about virus's for granted.



Jan 30, 2012 at 03:08 PM
Davis B.
Offline
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #10 · PM from Fred ?


snapsy wrote:
PM looked suspicious so I opened up its link in a sandboxed Virtual Machine. The page reads "Free 20 Mins DirectChat WebCam, Amateur" and there's a photo of a young child on the page. The page also instructions visitors to "Activate Java Runtime Environnement to enjoy the full accebility" and has launches for some flash applets. Wouldn't be surprised if the page incorporates a browser/system attack. Looks sketchy obviously - don't click on the link.


+1 same here. didnt run it. someone needs to contract Fred and let him know. Anyone know how.



Jan 30, 2012 at 03:09 PM
John Skinner
Offline
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #11 · PM from Fred ?


Hopefully someone in power will make a pop up notice and let people know that the mail here was hacked and NOT to open this


Jan 30, 2012 at 03:09 PM
Skarkowtsky
Offline
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #12 · PM from Fred ?


I switched from Apple to PC in 2008. Other than having to be extra careful around the internet, which you get used to, I have no real complaints. With that, the ability to go wherever I want on an Apple is something I miss now and then.


Jan 30, 2012 at 03:10 PM
Fred Miranda
Offline
Admin
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #13 · PM from Fred ?


I'm fixing this as I see it. All the PMs have been deleted. We are still working on the source.
Fred



Jan 30, 2012 at 03:11 PM
sritri
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #14 · PM from Fred ?


Thanks for the quick action Fred.


Jan 30, 2012 at 03:13 PM
mco_970
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #15 · PM from Fred ?


Thanks, Fred.


Jan 30, 2012 at 03:14 PM
Skarkowtsky
Offline
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #16 · PM from Fred ?


Thank you, Fred. Did you read what I was referring to about April 2011 and the now-and-then Firefox warnings about your site Something to look into?

John



Jan 30, 2012 at 03:15 PM
ATurturro
Offline
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #17 · PM from Fred ?


thanks fred.


Jan 30, 2012 at 03:17 PM
Fred Miranda
Offline
Admin
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #18 · PM from Fred ?


I will be working on this for a while. All the doors must be closed.
Just in case, I temporarily removed all admins and moderators from the site, including myself, so please behave!
Thanks for your patience.
Fred



Jan 30, 2012 at 03:29 PM
kidtexas
Offline
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #19 · PM from Fred ?


Just wanted to say I also got a spam email. It was addressed from '[email protected]' and said I won a free Canon Digital. The body of the message contained the same link as the aforementioned PM. When I looked at the headers of the email, they mentioned 'web1.fredmiranda.com'. So it's possibly more than just a PM hack.


Jan 30, 2012 at 03:42 PM
Fred Miranda
Offline
Admin
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #20 · PM from Fred ?


kidtexas wrote:
Just wanted to say I also got a spam email. It was addressed from '[email protected]' and said I won a free Canon Digital. The body of the message contained the same link as the aforementioned PM. When I looked at the headers of the email, they mentioned 'web1.fredmiranda.com'. So it's possibly more than just a PM hack.


It was both email and PM. They were both fixed but we will be scanning the servers for a while.
Fred



Jan 30, 2012 at 03:52 PM
       2       end




FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

       2       end
    
 

Welcome back
Log in to your account