fredmiranda.com
Login

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
  New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist
  

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

1              end
  

Archive 2012 · PM from Fred ?

  
 
Danpbphoto
Offline
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #1 · PM from Fred ?


Fred, I am not sure this is connected but when I opened the PM and clicked on the link, my Apple asked if I wanted to "allow control to another computer" I denied it and checked the log and found that a website www.2mdn.net was the origin of the pm link.
I tried to log into 2mdn.net and IE8 said no such link.
Dan

Edited on Jan 30, 2012 at 05:46 PM · View previous versions



Jan 30, 2012 at 04:56 PM
anthonysemone
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #2 · PM from Fred ?


well, it looks like our buddies at Google are playing a role in this:

Whois Record For 2Mdn.net

Whois Record
Site Profile
Registration
Server Stats
My Whois
Reverse Whois: "DNS Admin" owns about93,763 other domains Email Search: is associated with about 10,362 domains
Registrar History: 3 registrars NS History: 2 changes on 3 unique name servers over 7 years. Whois History: 1,318 records have been archived since 2005-05-03 . Log In or Create a FREE account to start monitoring this domain name

Registrant:
DNS Admin
Google Inc.
1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
Mountain View CA 94043
US
+1.6502530000 Fax: +1.6506188571

Domain Name: 2mdn.net

Registrar Name: Markmonitor.com
Registrar Whois: whois.markmonitor.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.markmonitor.com

Administrative Contact:
DNS Admin
Google Inc.
1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
Mountain View CA 94043
US
+1.6506234000 Fax: +1.6506188571
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
DNS Admin
Google Inc.
1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
Mountain View CA 94043
US
+1.6502530000 Fax: +1.6506188571

Created on..............: 2005-05-02.
Expires on..............: 2013-05-02.
Record last updated on..: 2011-04-18.

Domain servers in listed order:

ns3.google.com
ns1.google.com
ns2.google.com
ns4.google.com



Jan 30, 2012 at 05:14 PM
Danpbphoto
Offline
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #3 · PM from Fred ?


Good work anthony and they have hacked into some PC computers that have used google today.
I am online with Norton NAV now for 1 of my WinXP pc's that crashed and would NOT start NORMALLY. SAFE MODE OK...They got me up and running normal and have found a virus tracing back to 2mdn.net. Had to use "restore point" from yesterday for computer to start "normally". And I am on a seured,encrypted network!!
Windows registration language was changed to "shut down" and delete Windows startup..So far after lines removed by NAV, computer running fine.
I forwarded to NAV your post.
Dan



Jan 30, 2012 at 05:19 PM
anthonysemone
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #4 · PM from Fred ?


holy horse hockey, Dan. talk about a worse case scenario I'm not at all computer savvy, depending upon OSX and Sophos anti-virus; I have the latter running continuously and I'm clean (so far). I did not get anything like the rest of you all reporting this have gotten; maybe Fred got in before I saw OP's post. Are you good to go now? Sure do hope so


Jan 30, 2012 at 06:23 PM
Danpbphoto
Offline
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #5 · PM from Fred ?


anthonysemone wrote:
holy horse hockey, Dan. talk about a worse case scenario I'm not at all computer savvy, depending upon OSX and Sophos anti-virus; I have the latter running continuously and I'm clean (so far). I did not get anything like the rest of you all reporting this have gotten; maybe Fred got in before I saw OP's post. Are you good to go now? Sure do hope so


Norton AV has Incident Case on both websites for scamware, scareware and trojan viruses on 1/31. Norton's Power Erasure found muliple deep threats that nrmal full rootkit scans did not detect.
Seems PC's were only one's "violated"
Dan

Edited on Feb 02, 2012 at 05:50 PM · View previous versions



Jan 30, 2012 at 06:57 PM
anthonysemone
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #6 · PM from Fred ?


holy shit!! no never mind, horse hockey. I reckon those assholes have nothing better to do with their time than to piss around with folks. Glad it's working out, Dan


Jan 30, 2012 at 07:38 PM
x0SiN0x
Offline

Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #7 · PM from Fred ?


Fred Miranda wrote:
It was both email and PM. They were both fixed but we will be scanning the servers for a while.
Fred


I just got the same email as well, so either it was delayed in the mail queue or still have issues with email



Jan 31, 2012 at 11:59 AM
hexentanz
Offline
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #8 · PM from Fred ?


Got the same email as well.


Jan 31, 2012 at 02:07 PM
polpo
Offline

Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #9 · PM from Fred ?


2mdn.net is a domain owned by Google, used to serve up ads for their DoubleClick ad network.


Jan 31, 2012 at 02:46 PM
Fred Miranda
Offline
Admin
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #10 · PM from Fred ?


Were are still investigating this issue.
If you get an email with the subject line:

"You won a Canon Digital Photo Camera"

Do NOT open or click on any link. Please remove this email from your machine. It's spam and I'm working on fixing this asap.
Fred



Jan 31, 2012 at 02:57 PM
jcolwell
Offline
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #11 · PM from Fred ?


Hi Fred.

I received one at 12:54 AST (UTC-4). Let me know if you want a copy of the header info.

Good luck with this.

Jim



Jan 31, 2012 at 04:15 PM
anthonysemone
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #12 · PM from Fred ?


Fred,

FWIW, I opened the 2mdn.net link on a MBP 17" that you know well Not a problem here. I've scanned all files on my hard drive with Sophos anti-virus, and all 300k + of them are clean; nothing in my Quarantine folder either. I offer this not to start a war about Mac v. Windows, but only to say that perhaps you're having a positive impact on the idiots who did this.



Jan 31, 2012 at 04:35 PM
Fred Miranda
Offline
Admin
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #13 · PM from Fred ?


anthonysemone wrote:
Fred,

FWIW, I opened the 2mdn.net link on a MBP 17" that you know well Not a problem here. I've scanned all files on my hard drive with Sophos anti-virus, and all 300k + of them are clean; nothing in my Quarantine folder either. I offer this not to start a war about Mac v. Windows, but only to say that perhaps you're having a positive impact on the idiots who did this.


I almost forgot your have my 17".
Yes, this seems to be an issue with PC machines only.



Jan 31, 2012 at 04:56 PM
Fred Miranda
Offline
Admin
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #14 · PM from Fred ?


jcolwell wrote:
Hi Fred.

I received one at 12:54 AST (UTC-4). Let me know if you want a copy of the header info.

Good luck with this.

Jim


Can you PM it to me?
I wanted to know the actual original time and date. If it was yesterday, it was a deferred email.



Jan 31, 2012 at 04:58 PM
MacHeadCase
Offline

Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #15 · PM from Fred ?


I got one too ! I haven't posted here all that much and my last post was ages ago, not to mention that I haven't had time to visit in quite a while. The email notification, sent today, ended up in my spam folder (Mac OS X Mail.app) but I saw it anyway just now. I am quite suspicious of these too good to be true stories so I never clicked on that link since I suspected it might be a phishing ploy or whatever.

I came here looking for a way to contact the owner to warn him that maybe there's been a breach in security.


Edit : Just had a look at my PM box and it was a direct email that I received, not a PM notification.



Jan 31, 2012 at 05:27 PM
MacHeadCase
Offline

Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #16 · PM from Fred ?


Fred, I just sent you a PM with the email long headers and the link saying where I could collect the camera I won.


Jan 31, 2012 at 05:34 PM
Ingo R
Offline

Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #17 · PM from Fred ?


I'm always suspicious when I "win" something or am offered anything for free. It never is and I didn't fall for it, either. Keep up the great site, Fred! No complaints from me!


Feb 01, 2012 at 12:04 AM
redal
Offline
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #18 · PM from Fred ?


I got one too, i need to read the "forum and Miscellaneous" more often


Feb 01, 2012 at 06:19 PM
1              end




FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

1              end
    
 

Welcome back
Log in to your account