What is your most recent (alt) lens purchase?
/forum/topic/982966/4

1       2       3       4      
       6              205       206       end

AhamB
Total Posts: 5106

They are all adaptable to EOS and some of then (Samyang, Zeiss ZE, Voigtländer (CV)) are available in native EF mount. One or two of the mentioned Contax lenses have been reported by some to have some problem with catching the mirror on the 5D/5DmkII but many people also use them without problems on those cameras.

helimat
Total Posts: 3749

onegreatcity wrote:
Hello to all, I'm new to this section of FM. I just dipped a toe in the 'alt water' with a Minolta Rokkor 58 1.4 and I love it! I'd like to go wider with another fast prime (converted to EOS). Any suggestions? Thanks!
-Cam

Minolta Rokkor 35/1.8...

CVickery
Total Posts: 2654

onegreatcity wrote:
CVickery wrote:

You need to be more specific about details such as $, focal length, aperture, etc if you want a manageble list. But for your consideration:

Samyang 14/2.8, Tamron SP17/3.5, Oly 21/2, 21/3.5, 24/2, 24/2.8, 28/3.5, Zeiss ZF/ZE 21/2.8, 25/2.8, 35/2, Contax 21/2.8, 28/2.8,35/1.4, Nikon AiS 28/2, 35/1.4, CV 20/3.5, 40/2 ......

I don't want to hijack the original intent of the thread but...
I shoot Canon crop frame right now with a (remote) possibility of going FF in the next year or so. I'd like to explore 24-50mm somewhere in the f/1.2 - f/2.0 range. Are all of the lenses you mention adaptable to EOS? I picked up a Fotodiox FD-EOS adapter because I've seen some good local deals on FD glass. Should I be concentrating on modified glass (ala the Jim Buchanan conversions)?

As for $$, I have no oil well in my backyard so budget is always a consideration.

Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask these questions (!!) but thanks for the suggestions...