Manual Focus Nikon Glass
/forum/topic/929565/2596

1       2       3              2596      
       2598              5890       5891       end

CGrindahl
Total Posts: 16784

I'll give that a try Peter. I found that very distracting as well since obviously the propellor was very busy at the moment. I've never worked with that particular filter. In fact, I didn't know such a thing existed, but then I'm a beginner with all these fancy pieces of software.

I created this with a great deal of help both in Lightroom and Photoshop with a help from Nik tools. This is a site I'd never visited before. I like this perspective on the SF skyline.

CGrindahl

I tried it Peter...

And the original...

Nice touch... I'll remember that... Thanks Peter.

jhinkey
Total Posts: 8410

pburke wrote:
jhinkey wrote:
My copy of the 300/4.5 ED-IF was just a tad better than my 70-300VR - both of which were just OK on my D700. Both have been sold.

I have the 70-300VR mostly for backcountry trips, when a cheaply made modern plastic lens that covers a good range is more likely to be in my pack than a lens built to last a century. Weight is a big issue. I'm heading out for some backcountry ski touring next month and there's just no way I'd bring a bag full of heavy AIS lenses along. In fact, taking a D600 and a few zooms and maybe the 20mm is already pushing it.

I may sell my 300mm f4.5 should I actually buy a big lens just to reduce the sticker shock.

Peter

Yep, as good as the old MF glass can be sometimes the weight just cannot be justified. I've lugged my share of MF glass up mountains and man it can be a back breaker. Hence the purchase of the 70-200/4VR which weighs less than the 200/4 AIS and 105/2.5 AIS combined.

I sold the 300/4.5 due to weight AND due to being kind of an in-between focal length for me.

My FX back country kit is shaping up to be:

16/3.5 AI
20/2.8D
50/1.8G
70-200/4VR
TC14E

and even this is pushing it . . . .

CGrindahl