Manual Focus Nikon Glass
/forum/topic/929565/2558

1       2       3              2558      
2559
       2560              5885       5886       end

Zichar
Registered: May 13, 2009
Total Posts: 3758
Country: Singapore

I wouldn't mind Ben's 24 PC-E
He'd probably have his hands full with Nikki when she returns



mike-in-ak
Registered: Jan 09, 2013
Total Posts: 223
Country: United States

CGrindahl wrote:
michael49 wrote:
MDoc9523 wrote:
michael49 wrote:
Quick question for you MF Nikon guys. I've been shooting Canon for years, but I keep thinking about picking up a D600 mainly for shooting Nikon and Zeiss MF lenses - I do shoot with some Nikkor glass on my Canon gear now. How is the focus confirmation function with Nikkor MF lenses? Is it generally reliable? I am developing an increasing fondness for old MF Nikkor glass.

I have the D7000 and the D600 and the conformation is right on with both of my cameras. I have tested all of my MF glass with live view focusing and found in both cameras are very reliable. The D600's viewfinder is so good you will be able to see the focus with out relying on the focus conformation light.



Thanks.

I don't rely on any focus confirmation with any of my MF glass on my Canon bodies, but I thought I might be a useful feature for wide apertures and for subjects that don't have the patience to stay still for shots - like my dog......and my wife.

Does focus confirmation work with all AI and AIS NIkkor lens?


The confirmation dot works with both AI and AI-s lenses, as well as pre-AI lenses that have been converted. What you'll likely appreciate most is the fact that the non-CPU register allows you to note the focal length and widest aperture so the camera will meter with the lenses. The only thing you need to know is that if you spot meter you need to use the center focusing point.

I made the move to Nikon with a brief exploration that turned into a switch when I discovered these beautiful old lenses. Folks who've following this thread pretty much know the story. I'm excited for you that you'll have the opportunity to use these lenses on a camera system for which they were designed. And when you do so, make certain you come play with the folks on this thread. We've been having a great time for over two and a half years. You're more than welcome to join us, but please restrain yourself until you have that D600 in your hands.


Sorry I'm late to this conversation but thought I would add that I cheated with my D300 / D700 and installed a third party split prism focus screen to aid in focusing as I find using the "dot" annoying and it is a carry over from my F body. My question for Nikon is why did you limit the non-CPU lens entries to only 9? I got way more than that.



Mishu01
Registered: Nov 20, 2009
Total Posts: 2444
Country: Romania

jhinkey wrote:
So what's the next lens to be sent around the world?


If you don't mind you better decide to send me around the world in order to shoot with your MF glass One day for each MF Nikkor from your stable... I'd start with Curtis How's your sofa boss?



leighton w
Registered: Nov 12, 2010
Total Posts: 12616
Country: United States


mike-in-ak wrote:
Sorry I'm late to this conversation but thought I would add that I cheated with my D300 / D700 and installed a third party split prism focus screen to aid in focusing as I find using the "dot" annoying and it is a carry over from my F body. My question for Nikon is why did you limit the non-CPU lens entries to only 9? I got way more than that.


I know what you mean, maybe someone can come up with a hack to fix this.



Kry27
Registered: Oct 15, 2012
Total Posts: 172
Country: Switzerland

kings_freak wrote:
...
–Tony


Wonderful, both series...

Let's try to hold up with a cheapo-shot:



mp356
Registered: May 31, 2009
Total Posts: 5637
Country: United States

kings_freak wrote:
On my last outing with Nikki, I went to the Corona Heritage Museum, with my Mom, and walked around a bit. This was the first time I had been there when the train exhibit was open. I went in and met the two gentlemen that ran the exhibit and got a cool history lesson about Corona. The exhibit is built to replicate life in Corona in 1949. Lots of historical buildings as well as landmarks that I recognize today. The neat part, is that I am now going to photograph the whole exhibit to be used for their promo media and they will have my shots playing on a large flatscreen in their exhibit booth. They will also hand out my cards during the exhibits. Pretty cool!

–Tony


Daffodils by T&J Photography, on Flickr


Corona, CA - Circa 1949 by T&J Photography, on Flickr



Very nice series Tony. I like these two the best.



mp356
Registered: May 31, 2009
Total Posts: 5637
Country: United States

leighton w wrote:

mike-in-ak wrote:
Sorry I'm late to this conversation but thought I would add that I cheated with my D300 / D700 and installed a third party split prism focus screen to aid in focusing as I find using the "dot" annoying and it is a carry over from my F body. My question for Nikon is why did you limit the non-CPU lens entries to only 9? I got way more than that.


I know what you mean, maybe someone can come up with a hack to fix this.


Everyone on this thread that responds to this 9 lens limit probably has a bad case of NMFAS, or if not, will soon.



rankamateur
Registered: Nov 25, 2007
Total Posts: 877
Country: United States

I picked this 28mm 3.5 AI up from the original owner for the wifes D7000. Bjorn's review is very high on this lens on the crop cameras. It came with the original accessory leather case and you can see it is in mint condition. We went up to Longwood for some good places to try it out.. Turns out Bjorn is more than correct. She loves this lens and so do I.



jhinkey
Registered: Jan 08, 2010
Total Posts: 8401
Country: United States

mp356 wrote:
leighton w wrote:

mike-in-ak wrote:
Sorry I'm late to this conversation but thought I would add that I cheated with my D300 / D700 and installed a third party split prism focus screen to aid in focusing as I find using the "dot" annoying and it is a carry over from my F body. My question for Nikon is why did you limit the non-CPU lens entries to only 9? I got way more than that.


I know what you mean, maybe someone can come up with a hack to fix this.


Everyone on this thread that responds to this 9 lens limit probably has a bad case of NMFAS, or if not, will soon.


I too lament the 9 lens limit - it would have been trivial to make it 50 or some huge number like that!
They probably just want us to buy new shiny AF lenses instead . . .



Kry27
Registered: Oct 15, 2012
Total Posts: 172
Country: Switzerland

Outstanding colours in the first one, thanks for sharing!



kwoodard
Registered: Aug 04, 2012
Total Posts: 4676
Country: United States

jhinkey wrote:
mp356 wrote:
leighton w wrote:

mike-in-ak wrote:
Sorry I'm late to this conversation but thought I would add that I cheated with my D300 / D700 and installed a third party split prism focus screen to aid in focusing as I find using the "dot" annoying and it is a carry over from my F body. My question for Nikon is why did you limit the non-CPU lens entries to only 9? I got way more than that.


I know what you mean, maybe someone can come up with a hack to fix this.


Everyone on this thread that responds to this 9 lens limit probably has a bad case of NMFAS, or if not, will soon.


I too lament the 9 lens limit - it would have been trivial to make it 50 or some huge number like that!
They probably just want us to buy new shiny AF lenses instead . . .


Work around would be to chip them all...



rankamateur
Registered: Nov 25, 2007
Total Posts: 877
Country: United States

jhinkey wrote:
mp356 wrote:
leighton w wrote:

mike-in-ak wrote:
Sorry I'm late to this conversation but thought I would add that I cheated with my D300 / D700 and installed a third party split prism focus screen to aid in focusing as I find using the "dot" annoying and it is a carry over from my F body. My question for Nikon is why did you limit the non-CPU lens entries to only 9? I got way more than that.


I know what you mean, maybe someone can come up with a hack to fix this.


Everyone on this thread that responds to this 9 lens limit probably has a bad case of NMFAS, or if not, will soon.


I too lament the 9 lens limit - it would have been trivial to make it 50 or some huge number like that!
They probably just want us to buy new shiny AF lenses instead . . .


I have 7 now that I have installed the CPU chip on. It is sooooooooooooo nice to stick the lens on and shoot and not fool with the menu everytime you take one off and put another on. In the end I will reserve the 9 slots for lenses that can not be chipped such as the 50 1.2 or a lens that I may be considered crazy for whacking the baffle on such as the 200-400.



jhinkey
Registered: Jan 08, 2010
Total Posts: 8401
Country: United States

kwoodard wrote:
jhinkey wrote:
mp356 wrote:
leighton w wrote:

mike-in-ak wrote:
Sorry I'm late to this conversation but thought I would add that I cheated with my D300 / D700 and installed a third party split prism focus screen to aid in focusing as I find using the "dot" annoying and it is a carry over from my F body. My question for Nikon is why did you limit the non-CPU lens entries to only 9? I got way more than that.


I know what you mean, maybe someone can come up with a hack to fix this.


Everyone on this thread that responds to this 9 lens limit probably has a bad case of NMFAS, or if not, will soon.


I too lament the 9 lens limit - it would have been trivial to make it 50 or some huge number like that!
They probably just want us to buy new shiny AF lenses instead . . .


Work around would be to chip them all...


The ones that can be chipped that is . . . some are very easy while others are a major project.



bruni
Registered: Feb 15, 2012
Total Posts: 1650
Country: Australia

Zichar wrote:
I wouldn't mind Ben's 24 PC-E
He'd probably have his hands full with Nikki when she returns



very funny Chin - I wouldn't mind your 45mmPCE - now that's a lens I know most of us don't have

ben



Oosty
Registered: Mar 09, 2009
Total Posts: 4208
Country: South Africa

Ron - nice lens. The first image is seriously sharp!



Oosty
Registered: Mar 09, 2009
Total Posts: 4208
Country: South Africa

I don't know if anyone is following the D7100 vs D600 thread but I found this interesting.

Any thoughts?

http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1198386/0#11428031



Oosty
Registered: Mar 09, 2009
Total Posts: 4208
Country: South Africa

There's also a discussion on the 500mm reflex that made me dig up this old file. - using the D70



MDoc9523
Registered: Aug 13, 2006
Total Posts: 5115
Country: United States

kings_freak wrote:
On my last outing with Nikki, I went to the Corona Heritage Museum, with my Mom, and walked around a bit. This was the first time I had been there when the train exhibit was open. I went in and met the two gentlemen that ran the exhibit and got a cool history lesson about Corona. The exhibit is built to replicate life in Corona in 1949. Lots of historical buildings as well as landmarks that I recognize today. The neat part, is that I am now going to photograph the whole exhibit to be used for their promo media and they will have my shots playing on a large flatscreen in their exhibit booth. They will also hand out my cards during the exhibits. Pretty cool!

–Tony



Purple Blossoms by T&J Photography, on Flickr



Love this shot Tony. Certainly worth another look



huddy
Registered: Oct 19, 2010
Total Posts: 1886
Country: United States

Hrm, I think chipping is probably the best way to avoid the 9 lens limit as chipping many of the lenses is a straightforward procedure. One other which obviously isn't ideal is to reserve a spot or two for lesser used lenses and just change the data if you want to take them out. I had 10 at one time which and employed the second strategy. I'm selling off those that I don't use though, and am back below 9 now...



NightOwl Cat
Registered: Feb 19, 2007
Total Posts: 9301
Country: United States

Or... shiny new cameras to hold more spots for more MF lenses. This D700 with these MF lenses, this D3 with this bunch over here....

jhinkey wrote:
mp356 wrote:
leighton w wrote:

mike-in-ak wrote:
Sorry I'm late to this conversation but thought I would add that I cheated with my D300 / D700 and installed a third party split prism focus screen to aid in focusing as I find using the "dot" annoying and it is a carry over from my F body. My question for Nikon is why did you limit the non-CPU lens entries to only 9? I got way more than that.


I know what you mean, maybe someone can come up with a hack to fix this.


Everyone on this thread that responds to this 9 lens limit probably has a bad case of NMFAS, or if not, will soon.


I too lament the 9 lens limit - it would have been trivial to make it 50 or some huge number like that!
They probably just want us to buy new shiny AF lenses instead . . .



1       2       3              2558      
2559
       2560              5885       5886       end