Manual Focus Nikon Glass
/forum/topic/929565/2546

1       2       3              2546      
2547
       2548              5889       5890       end

kwoodard
Registered: Aug 04, 2012
Total Posts: 4682
Country: United States

Here is another shot with the Nikkor-Q 135 f/2.8.


DSC_6916 by Kevin.Woodard, on Flickr



jhinkey
Registered: Jan 08, 2010
Total Posts: 8409
Country: United States

asiostygius wrote:
Thanks Ray and Jeff.

Just a little break from Pompeii, this is one of the firsts shots with a unusual couple:
a ~1963/1964 made Nikkor 105mm f/2.5 P Sonnar with a 2012 made D600:


Nikkor 105mm f/2.5 P (Sonnar) test shot. by labecoaves, on Flickr


Late afternoon contrasty sky x clouds at neighbour's buildings:




The scalloped ring is a joy to use and looks like more durable than the rubber rings.


Hah! A lens that's older than me! I wish I still worked that well!



bruni
Registered: Feb 15, 2012
Total Posts: 1650
Country: Australia

Lieutenant Z wrote:
I sold my 2/35 Zeiss and just keep the 1.4/85 Planar.

50 1.8 ais :




why?

ben



montym
Registered: Jul 19, 2003
Total Posts: 4717
Country: United States

Hi guys and gals. I wonder if I could ask for a little advice?

I sold my 20mm f/2.8 MF lens on eBay. The buyer is having trouble getting the lens to communicate with the camera (a D600).


Hi Monty, I get the lens yesterday, looks beautiful, thank you.
I have a Nikon D600 and when I installed the lens in my camera shows f--.
You stated to used this lens in a same camera, I fix the information on the non cpu lens menu, but the same message come up.( f--)
Is anything that I need to ajust in the camera to let it lens work?
I really appreciate if you get back to me.


My suggestion was to reseat the lens. Take it off and put it back on. If that doesn't work then clean the contacts on the camera and lens. I cannot think of what else the problem might be?

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Monty



rafaelcasd
Registered: Jan 07, 2011
Total Posts: 2486
Country: United States

This will get me in trouble as it has no photographic merit of any sort.

D3 with 28mm 2.0 ais, just received my new top for the C3:


_DSC2689 by Rafael CA, on Flickr

Here is the old top, ready for the trash, as soon as I can get the new one on. Getting the old one off was easy and the frame is in great condition, this being a California rust free car.


_DSC2690 by Rafael CA, on Flickr

And the topless car, waiting - will show you the end result. Half the work will be cleaning the frame to perfection.


_DSC2693 by Rafael CA, on Flickr



MDoc9523
Registered: Aug 13, 2006
Total Posts: 5115
Country: United States

montym wrote:
Hi guys and gals. I wonder if I could ask for a little advice?

I sold my 20mm f/2.8 MF lens on eBay. The buyer is having trouble getting the lens to communicate with the camera (a D600).


Hi Monty, I get the lens yesterday, looks beautiful, thank you.
I have a Nikon D600 and when I installed the lens in my camera shows f--.
You stated to used this lens in a same camera, I fix the information on the non cpu lens menu, but the same message come up.( f--)
Is anything that I need to ajust in the camera to let it lens work?
I really appreciate if you get back to me.


My suggestion was to reseat the lens. Take it off and put it back on. If that doesn't work then clean the contacts on the camera and lens. I cannot think of what else the problem might be?

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Monty

Monty the simple answer may be that It will only work in A and M any other it will show f....



montym
Registered: Jul 19, 2003
Total Posts: 4717
Country: United States

Excellent!!!!!!
Thanks so much.
I have always had my camera on "M" and that is what I never saw it!

Thanks




MDoc9523 wrote:
montym wrote:
Hi guys and gals. I wonder if I could ask for a little advice?

I sold my 20mm f/2.8 MF lens on eBay. The buyer is having trouble getting the lens to communicate with the camera (a D600).


Hi Monty, I get the lens yesterday, looks beautiful, thank you.
I have a Nikon D600 and when I installed the lens in my camera shows f--.
You stated to used this lens in a same camera, I fix the information on the non cpu lens menu, but the same message come up.( f--)
Is anything that I need to ajust in the camera to let it lens work?
I really appreciate if you get back to me.


My suggestion was to reseat the lens. Take it off and put it back on. If that doesn't work then clean the contacts on the camera and lens. I cannot think of what else the problem might be?

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Monty

Monty the simple answer may be that It will only work in A and M any other it will show f....



kwoodard
Registered: Aug 04, 2012
Total Posts: 4682
Country: United States

MDoc9523 wrote:
montym wrote:
Hi guys and gals. I wonder if I could ask for a little advice?

I sold my 20mm f/2.8 MF lens on eBay. The buyer is having trouble getting the lens to communicate with the camera (a D600).


Hi Monty, I get the lens yesterday, looks beautiful, thank you.
I have a Nikon D600 and when I installed the lens in my camera shows f--.
You stated to used this lens in a same camera, I fix the information on the non cpu lens menu, but the same message come up.( f--)
Is anything that I need to ajust in the camera to let it lens work?
I really appreciate if you get back to me.


My suggestion was to reseat the lens. Take it off and put it back on. If that doesn't work then clean the contacts on the camera and lens. I cannot think of what else the problem might be?

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Monty

Monty the simple answer may be that It will only work in A and M any other it will show f....


Beat me to it, that is the exact answer. When I got my first MF lens, I saw this and was super confused to what that meant.



montym
Registered: Jul 19, 2003
Total Posts: 4717
Country: United States

Man, you guys are quick... and smart!
Thanks Again!



Lieutenant Z
Registered: Nov 21, 2010
Total Posts: 3777
Country: France

bruni wrote:
Lieutenant Z wrote:
I sold my 2/35 Zeiss and just keep the 1.4/85 Planar.

50 1.8 ais :




why?

ben


I didn't use it. It's a good lens but not a magic one. The 35 1.4 Distagon is magic with a lot of character but costs much money and 35 is not my favorite FL.



Ronny Olsson
Registered: Jun 24, 2012
Total Posts: 5069
Country: Sweden

Great shot Z

Have used new like button to certain images with



NIKKOR 180mm f/2.8 ED AI-s by Ronny Olsson, on Flickr

NIKKOR 180mm f/2.8 ED AI-s by Ronny Olsson, on Flickr

NIKKOR 180mm f/2.8 ED AI-s by Ronny Olsson, on Flickr



kwoodard
Registered: Aug 04, 2012
Total Posts: 4682
Country: United States

Ronny _Olsson wrote:
Great shot Z

Have used new like button to certain images with



NIKKOR 180mm f/2.8 ED AI-s by Ronny Olsson, on Flickr

NIKKOR 180mm f/2.8 ED AI-s by Ronny Olsson, on Flickr

NIKKOR 180mm f/2.8 ED AI-s by Ronny Olsson, on Flickr

Man, you sure do use that 180mm like you have been using it all your life. Great shots, especially Nitro.



CGrindahl
Registered: Dec 17, 2004
Total Posts: 16784
Country: United States

montym wrote:
Hi guys and gals. I wonder if I could ask for a little advice?

I sold my 20mm f/2.8 MF lens on eBay. The buyer is having trouble getting the lens to communicate with the camera (a D600).


Hi Monty, I get the lens yesterday, looks beautiful, thank you.
I have a Nikon D600 and when I installed the lens in my camera shows f--.
You stated to used this lens in a same camera, I fix the information on the non cpu lens menu, but the same message come up.( f--)
Is anything that I need to ajust in the camera to let it lens work?
I really appreciate if you get back to me.


My suggestion was to reseat the lens. Take it off and put it back on. If that doesn't work then clean the contacts on the camera and lens. I cannot think of what else the problem might be?

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Monty


MF lenses don't "communicate" with DSLR bodies since they don't have electrical contacts. With the non-CPU register you can tell the camera how to interpret movement of the aperture ring by telling the camera the widest aperture. This permits the camera to meter properly. There is no EXIF data collected, though Lightroom will not both the focal length specified in the non-CPU register, the aperture selected and the corresponding shutter speed selected by the camera based on the aperture. I'm afraid your buyer will have to learn how to enter the lens in the non-CPU register and work with the lack of EXIF data. I deal with that through a naming convention that identified the lens in the file name.

When you speak with him tell him about this thread. Doubtless folks hanging out here can offer support and answer questions.

Nice to see you name on the thread Monty. Hope you're well and enjoying your new toys.

Day late and a dollar short I see...



montym
Registered: Jul 19, 2003
Total Posts: 4717
Country: United States

CGrindahl wrote:
When you speak with him tell him about this thread. Doubtless folks hanging out here can offer support and answer questions.

Nice to see you name on the thread Monty. Hope you're well and enjoying your new toys.


Yes. I did tell him about this thread




Ronny Olsson
Registered: Jun 24, 2012
Total Posts: 5069
Country: Sweden

Thanks kevin



mike-in-ak
Registered: Jan 09, 2013
Total Posts: 223
Country: United States

D3s - 24mm /2 AI - ISO 4000 - /4 - 16 seconds



CGrindahl
Registered: Dec 17, 2004
Total Posts: 16784
Country: United States

montym wrote:
CGrindahl wrote:
When you speak with him tell him about this thread. Doubtless folks hanging out here can offer support and answer questions.

Nice to see you name on the thread Monty. Hope you're well and enjoying your new toys.


Yes. I did tell him about this thread




That's great Monty, but we'd rather have you with that lens and the rest of your MF kit sharing a little love with the rest of us. I imagine what I'm seeing in your profile is no longer accurate, at least when it relates to your MF lenses. I see you AF toys listed. I trust you're enjoying using those two well regarded lenses. They're monsters, of course. I can't help but wonder what the folks at Webex must feel when you point a bazooka at them...

Don't forget, if you ever get pored just pressing the shutter button, we'll be hear working hard with the fingers of our left hands...



CGrindahl
Registered: Dec 17, 2004
Total Posts: 16784
Country: United States

Awesome shot Mike. WOW! Great work. I'm delighted you found us Mike and that you're sharing your work with you MF Nikkor lenses.



CGrindahl
Registered: Dec 17, 2004
Total Posts: 16784
Country: United States

From today, a few shots taken with the 180 f/2.8 AI-s and the 50 f/1.2 AI-s. First two with the 180, the second two with the 50. Spring is definitely here. These were all taken at China Camp along the edge of the San Pablo Bay which is the northernmost portion of what is generally considering San Francisco Bay.






MDoc9523
Registered: Aug 13, 2006
Total Posts: 5115
Country: United States

asiostygius wrote:
Thanks Ray and Jeff.

Just a little break from Pompeii, this is one of the firsts shots with a unusual couple:
a ~1963/1964 made Nikkor 105mm f/2.5 P Sonnar with a 2012 made D600:

Late afternoon contrasty sky x clouds at neighbour's buildings:



Nikkor 105mm f/2.5 P (Sonnar) test shot. by labecoaves, on Flickr

Nikon D600 + Nikkor-P 105mm f/2.5 hand held, ISO 200, f/8 at 1/250s.
The scalloped ring is a joy to use and looks like more durable than the rubber rings.


I was just about to put my 105 2.5 P on my D600. Great minds
Terrific shot



1       2       3              2546      
2547
       2548              5889       5890       end