Manual Focus Nikon Glass
/forum/topic/929565/2406

1       2       3              2406      
2407
       2408              4304       4305       end

Lieutenant Z
Registered: Nov 21, 2010
Total Posts: 3013
Country: France

leighton w wrote:
MarkdV wrote:
Christmas is a time for family so here's my current MF "Family" taken with a borrowed 105mm f2.5.
From (physically) smallest to largest:
28mm f2.8 series E
50mm f1.2 Ai
55mm f2.8 micro Ai-S
105mm f2.5 Ai-S
35-70mm f3.5 Ai-S
75-150mm f3.5 series E
180mm f2.8 Ai-S
300mm f4.5 Ai-S

I haven't yet given the 180 or the 55 micro enough work, but the rest I manage to get onto the camera at least semi-regularly and surprisingly I really like everyone of them. A pity since I have only 1 more slot in the cameras banks for non-cpu lenses and I can see a couple of gaps in the lineup, like 85mm and a bargain but mint 400mm or 600mm (ok, dreaming a bit there).
I guess if Curtis took this shot he's need to take it with a 16mm to get them all in.

Also a quick shot with the 180mm just for good measure, I really need to go for a long walk with this beauty.


Nice to meet your family Mark, and what a handsome group they are! You better find away to mount the 180mm though.


+1 and thanks for comment!



Ronny _Olsson
Registered: Jun 24, 2012
Total Posts: 2474
Country: Sweden

Lieutenant Z wrote:
Ronny _Olsson wrote:
On nikon 135 f2 ais Showing sadly mistaken focal length in exif 35mm instead of 135mm
it is chipped but is probably not right .. aperture displays correct.
Anyone have any idea why? is it that it is wrong chip?



Ronny, I don't really understand what the problem is.
That's a non CPU lens ( works like a ZF) : don't forget you have to specify lenght and aperture in the non D700 non-CPU data menu.
Look at the D700 manuel page 210.


But it is chipped .. so that I can change the aperture on the camera instead of the lens
so it does not seem to work even if I set the non-cpu in the D700 at 135mm and f2 it shows 35mm anyway
aperture is right in the exif
do not really understand why people chipping one like this lens?
or I'm just slow ;-)



leighton w
Registered: Nov 12, 2010
Total Posts: 9456
Country: United States

Ronny _Olsson wrote:
Lieutenant Z wrote:
Ronny _Olsson wrote:
On nikon 135 f2 ais Showing sadly mistaken focal length in exif 35mm instead of 135mm
it is chipped but is probably not right .. aperture displays correct.
Anyone have any idea why? is it that it is wrong chip?



Ronny, I don't really understand what the problem is.
That's a non CPU lens ( works like a ZF) : don't forget you have to specify lenght and aperture in the non D700 non-CPU data menu.
Look at the D700 manuel page 210.


But it is chipped .. so that I can change the aperture on the camera instead of the lens
so it does not seem to work even if I set the non-cpu in the D700 at 135mm and f2 it shows 35mm anyway
aperture is right in the exif
do not really understand why people chipping one like this lens?
or I'm just slow ;-)


The chips may be mis-aligned, or perhaps a dirty connection? I'm not sure why it would act this way.



Ronny _Olsson
Registered: Jun 24, 2012
Total Posts: 2474
Country: Sweden

leighton w wrote:
Ronny _Olsson wrote:
Lieutenant Z wrote:
Ronny _Olsson wrote:
On nikon 135 f2 ais Showing sadly mistaken focal length in exif 35mm instead of 135mm
it is chipped but is probably not right .. aperture displays correct.
Anyone have any idea why? is it that it is wrong chip?



Ronny, I don't really understand what the problem is.
That's a non CPU lens ( works like a ZF) : don't forget you have to specify lenght and aperture in the non D700 non-CPU data menu.
Look at the D700 manuel page 210.


But it is chipped .. so that I can change the aperture on the camera instead of the lens
so it does not seem to work even if I set the non-cpu in the D700 at 135mm and f2 it shows 35mm anyway
aperture is right in the exif
do not really understand why people chipping one like this lens?
or I'm just slow ;-)


The chips may be mis-aligned, or perhaps a dirty connection? I'm not sure why it would act this way.

Thanks..
must do some research in the
seller had bought it chippat and it has shown wrong all the time .. it is probably
so that it is wrong chip .. either I get to live with it or I get to remove it
does not really matter to me as it is pretty easy to see which images are from 35mm and those who are from 135mm ...



MDoc9523
Registered: Aug 13, 2006
Total Posts: 5115
Country: United States

Ronny _Olsson wrote:
Lieutenant Z wrote:
Ronny _Olsson wrote:
On nikon 135 f2 ais Showing sadly mistaken focal length in exif 35mm instead of 135mm
it is chipped but is probably not right .. aperture displays correct.
Anyone have any idea why? is it that it is wrong chip?



Ronny, I don't really understand what the problem is.
That's a non CPU lens ( works like a ZF) : don't forget you have to specify lenght and aperture in the non D700 non-CPU data menu.
Look at the D700 manuel page 210.


But it is chipped .. so that I can change the aperture on the camera instead of the lens
so it does not seem to work even if I set the non-cpu in the D700 at 135mm and f2 it shows 35mm anyway
aperture is right in the exif
do not really understand why people chipping one like this lens?
or I'm just slow ;-)

Did you set the aperture ring to F22 or the the highest number?



leighton w
Registered: Nov 12, 2010
Total Posts: 9456
Country: United States

MDoc9523 wrote:
Ronny _Olsson wrote:
Lieutenant Z wrote:
Ronny _Olsson wrote:
On nikon 135 f2 ais Showing sadly mistaken focal length in exif 35mm instead of 135mm
it is chipped but is probably not right .. aperture displays correct.
Anyone have any idea why? is it that it is wrong chip?



Ronny, I don't really understand what the problem is.
That's a non CPU lens ( works like a ZF) : don't forget you have to specify lenght and aperture in the non D700 non-CPU data menu.
Look at the D700 manuel page 210.


But it is chipped .. so that I can change the aperture on the camera instead of the lens
so it does not seem to work even if I set the non-cpu in the D700 at 135mm and f2 it shows 35mm anyway
aperture is right in the exif
do not really understand why people chipping one like this lens?
or I'm just slow ;-)

Did you set the aperture ring to F22 or the the highest number?

+1



Ronny _Olsson
Registered: Jun 24, 2012
Total Posts: 2474
Country: Sweden

leighton w wrote:
MDoc9523 wrote:
Ronny _Olsson wrote:
Lieutenant Z wrote:
Ronny _Olsson wrote:
On nikon 135 f2 ais Showing sadly mistaken focal length in exif 35mm instead of 135mm
it is chipped but is probably not right .. aperture displays correct.
Anyone have any idea why? is it that it is wrong chip?



Ronny, I don't really understand what the problem is.
That's a non CPU lens ( works like a ZF) : don't forget you have to specify lenght and aperture in the non D700 non-CPU data menu.
Look at the D700 manuel page 210.


But it is chipped .. so that I can change the aperture on the camera instead of the lens
so it does not seem to work even if I set the non-cpu in the D700 at 135mm and f2 it shows 35mm anyway
aperture is right in the exif
do not really understand why people chipping one like this lens?
or I'm just slow ;-)

Did you set the aperture ring to F22 or the the highest number?

+1

yes I have done that .. otherwise is it just F EE in lcd screen (on top) on the D700
thanks for the tips



MDoc9523
Registered: Aug 13, 2006
Total Posts: 5115
Country: United States

You may need to reprogram the chip. Here's a link
http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1111798/0#10613782



MDoc9523
Registered: Aug 13, 2006
Total Posts: 5115
Country: United States

Thank you Leighton, Laura and mark
Georg those are some great shots especially this one





Chin and Phillippe well done on the T/S lenses
Mark I love lens photos - Nice collection






Ronny _Olsson
Registered: Jun 24, 2012
Total Posts: 2474
Country: Sweden

MDoc9523 wrote:
You may need to reprogram the chip. Here's a link
http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1111798/0#10613782


Thanks Ray .should check up



Ronny _Olsson
Registered: Jun 24, 2012
Total Posts: 2474
Country: Sweden

Test shot .. Nikon 135 f2 ais


Nikkor 135mm f/2 Ai-s by Ronny Olsson, on Flickr



anthonysemone
Registered: Mar 08, 2008
Total Posts: 4567
Country: United States

oh my Ronny, what a wonderful picture of a beautiful German Shepherd Dog, and in tough light too!. He's a winner



georgms
Registered: Jan 08, 2009
Total Posts: 3455
Country: Germany

Ronny, wow, what a beautiful portrait! Well done!



anthonysemone
Registered: Mar 08, 2008
Total Posts: 4567
Country: United States

also with Nikkor 135/2 Ai-S. I post this with apologies to Curtis and others of you who have mastered the art of photo'g flowers The DOF is so shallow on this lens, rivaling the 135/2DC. If you look carefully, though, you can see a pretty good approximation of a "smiley face" on the larger bubble to camera right of the center Love the lens, though even with the D7k, it is a handful.



georgms
Registered: Jan 08, 2009
Total Posts: 3455
Country: Germany

Ray, Ronny, Mark, Philippe, Scott, Chin and Leighton - thanks for your comments on the beach-shots!
Leighton, the "fence", made from heavy perforated plastics, was set up to regulate the sand-movement on the beach. A stiff western wind can move an amazing amount of sand.



vpik01
Registered: Feb 28, 2012
Total Posts: 587
Country: United States

Ray - awesome 'family shot' of your Nikkors

Here is the first of a couple shots from the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts in Richmond where I was visiting my Sister for Christmas. This building was really neat, an older house well preserved but I don't know the story behind it. The shot is a 4 shot stitch with Nikki using PSE10.


Great Lens Adventure-DC-8-2 by Tony DeFilippo, on Flickr



Ian Boys
Registered: Feb 09, 2009
Total Posts: 2128
Country: United Kingdom

I have long been attracted to this style of photography (and Michael Ackerman's book Half Life is my favourite) and I think this might be the year where I give this look a proper try. We shall see.

But on the other hand it might just feel too derivative. Dunno.

Nikon D50 / pre-AI 28mm f3.5


Slow Style by Ian_Boys, on Flickr



georgms
Registered: Jan 08, 2009
Total Posts: 3455
Country: Germany

Anthony, I like the very natural colors of your flower shot. The smiley-bubble is neat ;-)

Tony, very nice stitched architecture from Richmond!

Chin, love your guitar-shots! Both are great, the vertical one has more "stage-character" because of the spotlights and is my personal fav.

Mark, very nice Nikkor-family! I have yet to test my 180/2.8ED - your church-spire-shot looks great.



huddy
Registered: Oct 19, 2010
Total Posts: 1826
Country: United States

Zichar wrote:
You did great Alan
How'd you get him to look there?


Chin,
Anytime I fired the flash, he would turn and reach for it, so this shot was on either a 2nd or 3rd shot.

Tony,
Good to see you shooting MF again. Lovely pano.

Philippe,
I really like the tripod shot with the PCE.

Ray,
The concert series is excellent. Love #2.

Georg,
I like to light, and maybe one day I'll be good at it Lovely beach set, I'd say you are nailing the use of the PC lens.

Ronny,
Congrats on new lenses, and excellent shot with the 135.

Mark,
You have a nice little family there.



leighton w
Registered: Nov 12, 2010
Total Posts: 9456
Country: United States

Ronny - Nice dog portrait, beautiful looking dog.

Tony from PA - Really nice flower shot, but your blowing up my 27" monitor!

Tony from DC - How did you like the museum? My uncle was head photographer there for about 30 years. I used to go visit him and he would take me downstairs where the studio was to show me what he was working on. Once he told me that they brought Jeb Stuarts flamboyant Civil War hat for him to shoot, and when they left the room for a minute, he tried it on!



1       2       3              2406      
2407
       2408              4304       4305       end