Canon 5D Mark II for 1399
/forum/topic/789392/0

1
2 end

dwile38
Registered: Jul 24, 2008
Total Posts: 470
Country: United States

Hmmm this sounds too good to be true. I ran across an ad from Rogerscamera.com showing the Canon eos 5D Mark II for 1399.00 Body only
Any ideas what is up with this price, Has the economy gotten this bad.



deebo7
Registered: Mar 30, 2006
Total Posts: 1363
Country: United States

resellerratings.com



Jonathan Huynh
Registered: May 01, 2003
Total Posts: 240
Country: United States

Hmnmmmm run run not to look back .



globalkiwi
Registered: Jul 02, 2008
Total Posts: 1912
Country: United States

I believe rogers camera are classic "bait & switch" artists - folks on resellerratings seem to agree. Avoid!



dwile38
Registered: Jul 24, 2008
Total Posts: 470
Country: United States

Damn they are a bunch of thieving a**holes, it is just shocking how this goes on in this country.



skibum5
Registered: Jan 21, 2005
Total Posts: 3659
Country: United States

dwile38 wrote:
Hmmm this sounds too good to be true. I ran across an ad from Rogerscamera.com showing the Canon eos 5D Mark II for 1399.00 Body only
Any ideas what is up with this price, Has the economy gotten this bad.


you need to pay $1500 for the markii battery kit that turns the 5dmki into a 5dmkii though



globalkiwi
Registered: Jul 02, 2008
Total Posts: 1912
Country: United States

then another $2200 for the magic decoder ring to process the image files ...



3dmb
Registered: May 20, 2005
Total Posts: 43
Country: N/A

Roger-scam-era.com



Ed Lee
Registered: Jun 11, 2006
Total Posts: 365
Country: United States

I ran across one of those sweet sounding deals but I did not bite. I'd rather spend the money to get a quality product. Now if you had cash in hand and can walk into the establishment to conduct business face to face, then that's another story as long as it's legit.

Ed



trumpet_guy
Registered: Jun 23, 2006
Total Posts: 2097
Country: United States

This general advice should be a sticky for each gear board:
"If the price is too good to be true, assume it is not true,
and look elsewhere."



globalkiwi
Registered: Jul 02, 2008
Total Posts: 1912
Country: United States

In the case of most of these places - which for some reason seem to like to base themselves in Brooklyn, NY - there is no "establishment" to walk into. (There's a website set up by a guy who tracked down the addresses of these places & went around taking photo's of their registered storefronts which makes for entertaining viewing) Typically, they don't have the product you order anyway, & the name of the game is to sell you something else (that they make a big profit on).



EB-1
Registered: Jan 09, 2003
Total Posts: 10648
Country: United States

Buy two!

EBH



EB-1
Registered: Jan 09, 2003
Total Posts: 10648
Country: United States

trumpet_guy wrote:
This general advice should be a sticky for each gear board:
"If the price is too good to be true, assume it is not true,
and look elsewhere."



For sure that is good general advice in life, yet cheap people are attracted to a scam like a moth to a light.

EBH



orangefirefish
Registered: Jul 31, 2008
Total Posts: 2120
Country: United States

there's no reason a legitimate dealer should have to sell a current product at way below their cost- if that happens- something is wrong.



Pixel Perfect
Registered: Aug 16, 2004
Total Posts: 11206
Country: Australia

That must be British pounds, or one of those really nasty divorces.

Buy that ad you will be rogered!



helimat
Registered: Apr 06, 2008
Total Posts: 1451
Country: Canada

3dmb wrote:
Roger-scam-era.com


Now that is funny...



Mike Ganz
Registered: Sep 06, 2006
Total Posts: 1508
Country: United States

EB-1 wrote:
Buy two!

EBH


+1 Exactly!!!



Sean Mills
Registered: Jun 29, 2007
Total Posts: 1160
Country: Canada

I have a bridge for sale in NY that will go nicely with that 5D2... pm me for details.



Daan B
Registered: Aug 16, 2007
Total Posts: 5156
Country: Netherlands

1399... that much

I saw an used 5D2 offered for 510 euros on a national auction site

But I figured a holiday to Nigeria is a better way to spend my money



Carolyn1250
Registered: Aug 16, 2006
Total Posts: 423
Country: United States

I think the best way to avoid this stuff is to really just know the market on the item you are trying to buy. The retail of the 5d Mk II right now is $2699. If someone is selling a used one, probably the best you could do is $2400 or thereabouts (given locality, seller's circumstances, etc. - surely urgency or cash sale will maybe bring it down, but like $100, not $1000). Even the most "used" MkII right now is still pretty new.

So when junk like that comes around, i.e., a half price situation on the hottest Canon product ... I just roll my eyes. It's not worth the time and anguish to ferret out whether it is real or not. It probably is not.



Roslev
Registered: Oct 20, 2006
Total Posts: 105
Country: Denmark

Does the US not have (capable) governement-operated consumer-protection agencies that regulate these bastages?
Can't believe this question pops up time after time...same companies over and over.



Ian.Dobinson
Registered: Feb 18, 2007
Total Posts: 3220
Country: United Kingdom

Do you think its one of those plastic body ones?



globalkiwi
Registered: Jul 02, 2008
Total Posts: 1912
Country: United States

So light it's as if it was made of air?



globalkiwi
Registered: Jul 02, 2008
Total Posts: 1912
Country: United States

Roslev wrote:
Does the US not have (capable) governement-operated consumer-protection agencies that regulate these bastages?
Can't believe this question pops up time after time...same companies over and over.


I know this has been posted on the board before but it seems relevant here too:

http://cityroom.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/06/25/online-electronic-stores-caught-in-consumer-fraud/



mobilebucky
Registered: Apr 19, 2006
Total Posts: 69
Country: United States

globalkiwi wrote:
In the case of most of these places - which for some reason seem to like to base themselves in Brooklyn, NY - there is no "establishment" to walk into. (There's a website set up by a guy who tracked down the addresses of these places & went around taking photo's of their registered storefronts which makes for entertaining viewing) Typically, they don't have the product you order anyway, & the name of the game is to sell you something else (that they make a big profit on).


You mean the site from Don Wiss? That is a must read for everyone looking to buy a camera from NYC.

http://donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/



1
2 end