Mustang Air to Air: The Sequel
/forum/topic/600984/3489

1       2       3              3489      
3490
       3491              4275       4276       end

astrobrian
Registered: Sep 27, 2012
Total Posts: 827
Country: United States

JWilsonphoto wrote:
Attaboy Brian, you're just the guy to help. One can run into this kind of problem with new RAW files and an older version of Camera RAW, but I don't know what would cause a JPEG or a TIFF of any vintage to be unreadable.


To my knowledge jpegs haven't ever really "changed" like the RAW seems to so often. If they did the consumer market would likely flip out

Edit: TOPP A little pond by work that I stopped by and enjoyed some good light with yesterday.



stevezzzz
Registered: Aug 01, 2010
Total Posts: 3276
Country: United States

gerov wrote:
For those of you that have purchased iMacs, can I ask what specs you got? I'm looking at the 27 inch 2.9 ghz with either a 1tb or 3tb drive. I've already ordered additional RAM from OWC to bump it up to 24gb.

Thanks.

Gero


Gero, I bought the fully-loaded 27" iMac: fastest processor, upgraded video card , 3TB Fusion drive and 32GB of (3rd party) RAM. As Jim said, it's going to be obsolete soon anyway; we shooters have the need for speed and (this is the best part) I just spent under $3000 to get the fastest thing Apple sells, to replace a four-year-old MacPro tower that set me back almost $10K in 2009. IMHO, getting the fastest thing available today buys me about a year of extra time at the end of the life cycle, which is worth a fair amount of $$$ to me: that's a year where I won't have to spend a week bringing up a new system when the old one is just too slow to put up with any more.

My initial impressions are favorable: the display looks great and it is wicked fast at loading and displaying 1:1 pre-rendered RAW D800 images in LR4, though the rendering is best done as a background task before you try to look at them. The MacPro it replaces chokes on D800 files.

The jury is still out on Thunderbolt and the Drobo 5D: I'm not seeing the transfer times I would expect, especially since I installed the mSATA SSD in the Drobo. Last night I decided to move 20GB of files from one directory to another on the Drobo array, which should have taken no time at all: it took 20 minutes. Something's not right. Maybe I just need to let Spotlight index the array fully, or something. I think a call to Drobo may be in order.



msalvetti
Registered: Dec 20, 2003
Total Posts: 2827
Country: United States

Breaking News: City of Boston and Logan fire crews respond to electrical fire in cargo hold of a 787 Dreamliner parked at the gate. The plane had just arrived from Japan, passengers disembarked, when a mechanic found smoke in the hold:

http://www.wcvb.com/news/local/metro/Heavy-smoke-reported-in-belly-of-Logan-plane/-/11971628/18035428/-/son7fqz/-/index.html

Mark



JWilsonphoto
Registered: Jan 16, 2002
Total Posts: 16040
Country: United States

You're right Zim, 20 minutes is what I'd expect with USB2.0. 32GB 1000X Lexar cards load into the computer faster than 20 minutes with just a USB 2.0 interface. I'll go to HQ this afternoon and drag a 20GB file to the newest 5D to see what the transfer time is. I'd guess it at 2 to three minutes based upon what I experienced when I got it. That's with no SSD installed.



Rodolfo Paiz
Registered: Jan 07, 2007
Total Posts: 9714
Country: United States

JWilsonphoto wrote:
Fun day..........................


Yes indeed! I'm now 10 pounds lighter than I was in October, so hopefully the next time we shoot I'll look a little less "well-rounded" than I did then.



gerov
Registered: Nov 29, 2004
Total Posts: 8664
Country: United States

Rodolfo, just blame it on the fisheye lens. When I saw you in DC, you were lean and mean



gerov
Registered: Nov 29, 2004
Total Posts: 8664
Country: United States

Steve,
thanks for your feedback. I'm starting out a notch below what you've gotten, but then again, I'm not going to be feeding it D800 files any time soon

The apple store called to tell me mine has come in and I can pick it up tonight

Gero



ELinder
Registered: Feb 14, 2010
Total Posts: 429
Country: United States

From Sun-n-Fun 2011

Erich



gerov
Registered: Nov 29, 2004
Total Posts: 8664
Country: United States

Erich,
that is fabulous. Love the color and shock waves in the burners.

Gero



ELinder
Registered: Feb 14, 2010
Total Posts: 429
Country: United States

Thanks. I think the shock waves are cool too.

Erich



Jeff W.
Registered: Feb 09, 2008
Total Posts: 1846
Country: United States

My father's old squadron. 104's to 135's; times do change



MMcGrath
Registered: Apr 15, 2006
Total Posts: 2137
Country: United Kingdom

msalvetti wrote:
Breaking News: City of Boston and Logan fire crews respond to electrical fire in cargo hold of a 787 Dreamliner parked at the gate. The plane had just arrived from Japan, passengers disembarked, when a mechanic found smoke in the hold:

http://www.wcvb.com/news/local/metro/Heavy-smoke-reported-in-belly-of-Logan-plane/-/11971628/18035428/-/son7fqz/-/index.html

Mark


Mark,

from the pics Boston Fire tweeted, looks like they were inspecting the aft electrical equipment bay.

This might be the 4th rear electrical bay smoke / fire issue the 787 has had.



FlyingPhotog
Registered: May 09, 2008
Total Posts: 4395
Country: United States

Howdy All... Hope everyone is fully invested in 2013 now and is remembering to write that year on their checks!

A very rough 4:30 Video from this past Saturday's Fly In Breakfast at Coolidge (Same event from whence came Paul's excellent Staggerwing shot) Given that I spent the balance of my adult life in video production working with bazillions of dollars of equipment, it bends my mind a little to think that (as marginal as it is), I was able to create this video with a dSLR and Photoshop CS6.

There's no music nor graphics and it was all shot hand held but it was a fun little project:
http://crosswindimages.com/p684339541/e519037c6

You'll notice that there are some oddly shallow DOF shots toward the middle and end. I managed to borrow a variable ND filter (which I'm now going to buy off the lender) and it's kinda cool to be able to shoot 1/30 @ f/2.8 in broad daylight! Fun New Toy!!



MMcGrath
Registered: Apr 15, 2006
Total Posts: 2137
Country: United Kingdom

Pretty neat video Jay.

I'm hoping that by sometime in February I will have a Gopro Hero 3 to do some video and timelapse with. Hoping to be able to timelapse the following:

LHR-NRT onboard a BA777-300 and a ride aboard the Shinkansen (Bullet Train).

Mark



JWilsonphoto
Registered: Jan 16, 2002
Total Posts: 16040
Country: United States

Nice work Jay! What happens next is an insatiable desire for all the little, but expensive, tools that allow one to polish up the final production details. I'm still trying to decide what $4,000 rig I am going to invest in for follow focus, etc. Booms, rails, there's no end.



JWilsonphoto
Registered: Jan 16, 2002
Total Posts: 16040
Country: United States

Anyone else notice we just eased on through 3.7 million views?



FlyingPhotog
Registered: May 09, 2008
Total Posts: 4395
Country: United States

Thanks Mark.

Jim, No Kidding. I'm already eyeballing things I really shouldn't be eyeballing but I found myself last night thinking in ways I've not had to think in a while and it felt kinda good. You can take the boy out of video production but you can't take video production out of the boy I guess. <shrug>



jkanaly
Registered: Dec 30, 2008
Total Posts: 33
Country: United States

Well, the plot thickens! I tried the DVD in my MBP, same problem. Took one file that would not open, opened it on the windows machine, transferred to the USB thumb drive, and it opened on the MBP. One additional note, I thought I could not open files I had processed because they were smaller (thinking I had cropped them) about 3 mb vs about 5 for the ones that were opening. When I looked at the file size on the Windows laptop, they are all about the same size! It appears the Mac is not "seeing" the entire file? Again, thanks for the help. Also, how do I keep these replies on the same post?



msalvetti
Registered: Dec 20, 2003
Total Posts: 2827
Country: United States

jkanaly wrote:
Also, how do I keep these replies on the same post?


You can't, although many of us are around often enough that usually we can figure it out. One of the drawbacks of a single, 3,500-page thread.

If you're still worried about it, go back to one of your earlier relevant posts, hit the Quote button, and then add your new post afterwards. It will go to the end of the line, but it brings some continuity with it.

Mark



PDumm
Registered: Oct 17, 2011
Total Posts: 197
Country: United States

Dang Jeff, love the light on the belly.



1       2       3              3489      
3490
       3491              4275       4276       end