What's your process for storing archiving photos?
/forum/topic/1178482/0

taylorman22
Total Posts: 123

I currently use Adobe LR 4 and now that I'm starting take more photographs, storing them and keeping them organized is becoming an issue. I'm fairly new to LR, so I have a lot to learn.

How are you guys storing your photos and keeping them organized? I do shoot almost everything in RAW format, so once your photos have been processed, do you keep the RAW image or just the final shot?

Just looking for tips on how to stay organized!

cwebster
Total Posts: 3394

I suggest you read "The DAM Book - Digital Asset Management for Photographers" by Peter Krough for lots of info on ways to keep track of lots of photos.

I use Lightroom with collections to organize and search my collection of ~15,000 photos.

I keep the RAW photos, and discard the JPEG and TIFF export files as soon as they have served their purpose. They can be recreated on demand, so there's no real reason to keep (and back up) them.

<Chas>

mhayes5254
Total Posts: 1690

I am not sure what you mean by "keeping the final shot". If you are using LR as intended, you should have only RAW files. As cwebster mentioned, you may generate various derivative files as you work (for posting on the Web, etc) but these are generally throwaway files. You have the Raw's, with their processing in the catalog.

The one other thing I did (which is a bit of a contradiction to the above ) was to export all the family photographs to disk as JPEGS so my family members could have copies on their computers. If you have LR, and use it as described above, images can only be viewed on the LR computer. This can be done in several ways: by putting them in the same folder, a sub-folder of the catalog folder, one big folder with a numeric sequence before the file name, etc. This is done after processing the set.