Easy Noise Reduction
/forum/topic/1177456/1

1      
2
       3       end

Martin Good
Registered: Mar 16, 2008
Total Posts: 20762
Country: Switzerland

Very nice and clear tutorial Tim and good to see that it's like my own method
Martin



eyelaser
Registered: Oct 29, 2005
Total Posts: 18084
Country: United States

Well demonstrated. My technique is a little different but accomplishes the same thing.
Eric



treebeard
Registered: Sep 21, 2006
Total Posts: 7259
Country: United States

Thanks Tim, much appreciated.



dioladetus
Registered: Oct 21, 2009
Total Posts: 148
Country: Denmark

Good stuff Tim!
Its also a bit different than what I use, but the idea is the same



72chevelle454
Registered: Dec 04, 2005
Total Posts: 14335
Country: United States

I find earplugs work best... all the noise is gone then



Ernie Aubert
Registered: Apr 19, 2007
Total Posts: 4253
Country: United States

I just tried that, Tim. After applying the noise reduction, twice, on the inverted selection, I'm still seeing the selection with the moving border (and a moving border around the perimeter of the frame as well); how do I finalize that action so I can do something else?



No ANgle
Registered: Dec 13, 2012
Total Posts: 187
Country: United States

Good post with an easy method to learn that can make huge improvements to pictures. I do it much the same but with a slight change is all. There are more than one way to skin the cat in PS that is for sure.



Tim Kuhn
Registered: Nov 29, 2006
Total Posts: 43877
Country: United States

Ernie Aubert wrote:
I just tried that, Tim. After applying the noise reduction, twice, on the inverted selection, I'm still seeing the selection with the moving border (and a moving border around the perimeter of the frame as well); how do I finalize that action so I can do something else?


I'm sorry Ernie, it's always the little details that I miss. Press ctrl-d and the selection should disappear.

Tim



Ernie Aubert
Registered: Apr 19, 2007
Total Posts: 4253
Country: United States

Got it! Thanks, Tim. Now, however, I'm quite befuddled by something: After doing that, I invoked Topaz DeNoise 5, and its action isn't affecting the original subject area, only that surrounding area to which I'd applied the CS6 noise reduction. I'm cunfoozed.



Tim Kuhn
Registered: Nov 29, 2006
Total Posts: 43877
Country: United States

You didn't say you wanted to still use the selection Okay after running your background NR hit shift-ctrl-I to invert again. Now your subject is selected. Now when you run Topaz it will affect only the subject. Then when you are done hit ctrl-D to unselect. Let me know if that works for you

Tim



Ernie Aubert
Registered: Apr 19, 2007
Total Posts: 4253
Country: United States

Hah! I didn't want to still use the selection... I'm not accomplished with much of what selections can be used for. So far, I've just used them primarily for content-aware fill. So I'm still at the stage of finding out the basics. I did what you just said, and indeed it worked that way. Before, I was thinking DeNoise would work on the whole image; I didn't know it was smart enough to detect a selection and operate only on that. Thanks!

Next, I'm going to look at your tutorial on layers and masks; it's time for me to explore that, for sure. I really appreciate your taking the time to offer these for us learners!



Tim Kuhn
Registered: Nov 29, 2006
Total Posts: 43877
Country: United States

Ernie Aubert wrote:
Hah! I didn't want to still use the selection... I'm not accomplished with much of what selections can be used for. So far, I've just used them primarily for content-aware fill. So I'm still at the stage of finding out the basics. I did what you just said, and indeed it worked that way. Before, I was thinking DeNoise would work on the whole image; I didn't know it was smart enough to detect a selection and operate only on that. Thanks!

Next, I'm going to look at your tutorial on layers and masks; it's time for me to explore that, for sure. I really appreciate your taking the time to offer these for us learners!


I'm glad that worked Ernie. Just as an FYI, anytime you have something selected whatever you choose to do only works on that selection, the same applies to plugins

Tim



surfnron
Registered: Dec 17, 2004
Total Posts: 28959
Country: United States

72chevelle454 wrote:
I find earplugs work best... all the noise is gone then


Chad, be careful when you press the earplugs in - with nothing to stop them, they might meet in the middle...

Ron



Dan Heitman
Registered: Jun 13, 2011
Total Posts: 235
Country: Canada

Thanks for the info Tim, much appreciated.



No ANgle
Registered: Dec 13, 2012
Total Posts: 187
Country: United States

You shouldnt need to use a 3rd party program for noise. PS can do it all very well. The other thing I may add to the process is for the areas that you cant get separated with the quick select tool because they are to small or the tool wants to select more than you want it to is to just leave it alone and do the process as usual then flatten the layer and go back in those areas you couldnt get and use the blur tool on them.



randysc
Registered: May 13, 2009
Total Posts: 2119
Country: United States

Good info Tim, I don't have PS so I use a plug-in called Neat Image, works pretty good.



DonGut
Registered: Nov 28, 2008
Total Posts: 7865
Country: Canada

Great tips as always. Don



Tim Kuhn
Registered: Nov 29, 2006
Total Posts: 43877
Country: United States

surfnron wrote:
72chevelle454 wrote:
I find earplugs work best... all the noise is gone then


Chad, be careful when you press the earplugs in - with nothing to stop them, they might meet in the middle...

Ron





Tim



Tim Kuhn
Registered: Nov 29, 2006
Total Posts: 43877
Country: United States

No ANgle wrote:
You shouldnt need to use a 3rd party program for noise. PS can do it all very well. The other thing I may add to the process is for the areas that you cant get separated with the quick select tool because they are to small or the tool wants to select more than you want it to is to just leave it alone and do the process as usual then flatten the layer and go back in those areas you couldnt get and use the blur tool on them.


Nice tip No Angle. I would like to know your process using PS that removes noise on the subject. Care to share it with us?

Tim



Tim Kuhn
Registered: Nov 29, 2006
Total Posts: 43877
Country: United States

So glad you like this post everybody. Thanks for all the comments

Tim



1      
2
       3       end