Remote SW Vista
/forum/topic/1168509/1

1      
2
       3       4       end

CarlG
Registered: Mar 12, 2002
Total Posts: 6346
Country: United States

I've admired many of your pieces before but this one has to be one of the best I've seen - well done all the way around!!



dbehrens
Registered: Jan 13, 2002
Total Posts: 1797
Country: Canada

Very unique vista and beautiful shot. Your technique really shows the power of exposing to the right! Now I have a PS lesson to learn. Thanks!
Dave

Edit: Just tried the technique - this is an awesome tool!



Oregon Gal
Registered: Nov 02, 2008
Total Posts: 1982
Country: United States

Absolutely stunning image, a technique I am looking forward to trying and will watch for you're more extensive tutorial. Barbara



camerausername
Registered: May 15, 2010
Total Posts: 244
Country: United States

Great shot! That looks like a fun place to run around in.



schlotz
Registered: Jan 06, 2002
Total Posts: 2794
Country: United States

Excellent work, look forward to your FM CS6 tutorial on "Blend If"



snowboarder
Registered: Aug 27, 2004
Total Posts: 2591
Country: United States

Where is the location? Great shot.



Mark Metternich
Registered: Aug 01, 2005
Total Posts: 7193
Country: United States

snowboarder wrote:
Where is the location? Great shot.


PM me



roman.johnston
Registered: Jan 24, 2004
Total Posts: 2483
Country: United States

Well seen, recorded and processed Mark...

I cant wait to get back in the SW next year (gonna be in Page area for my birthday next fall....late celebration)

Roman



allstarimaging
Registered: Mar 24, 2006
Total Posts: 1863
Country: United States

Hi Mark,

Just curious if the rear LCD and histogram on your camera are working?? That first shot is a mess. Thanks for posting. The available recovery in full frame files combined with better and better enhancement software seems to be eliminating the need for filters. Great job on this.

Jack



Mark Metternich
Registered: Aug 01, 2005
Total Posts: 7193
Country: United States

allstarimaging wrote:
Hi Mark,

Just curious if the rear LCD and histogram on your camera are working?? That first shot is a mess. Thanks for posting. The available recovery in full frame files combined with better and better enhancement software seems to be eliminating the need for filters. Great job on this.

Jack




I many overexpose to get max data, so that made it look worse. I polarize around water and I like the 9 stop ND for creative work, but aside from that I don't use filters any more. No ND grads and such.



cherubino
Registered: Aug 01, 2002
Total Posts: 416
Country: United States

Absolutely lovely image! Thank you for sharing your technique.
Bob



Chris Anthony
Registered: Apr 23, 2005
Total Posts: 378
Country: United States

Excellent image Mark! quick question, is the blend if slider in newer versions only? I Have cs3 and cannot find the tool. I'm really new to blending and have some images from Yosemite Id like to try and blend, I tried the merge to hdr with dismal results. Thanks for your time.



Doug C
Registered: Mar 23, 2004
Total Posts: 813
Country: United States

I've found the same thing, that the 'Blend If' slider does not appear to be available in CS3. I have CS6, but haven't had the time to instal it yet. This will be one of the first things I check out when I do! Thanks Mark for the always informative text, I too will look forward to the tutorial.



nburwell
Registered: Jan 15, 2006
Total Posts: 3365
Country: United States

Fantastic job, Mark. I'm utterly speechless to what you achieved for your final image from the original.

-Nick



allstarimaging
Registered: Mar 24, 2006
Total Posts: 1863
Country: United States

If you don't own photoshop but have Lightroom 4 are there plug in or stand alone software programs that will allow you to blend exposures to achieve this look? If so do you have any suggestions.
Jack



DonH
Registered: Mar 23, 2003
Total Posts: 10069
Country: United States

Nice results, Mark.

Any difficulties with the Native population there? I understand that they are occasionally cracking down on access to this site.



Mark Metternich
Registered: Aug 01, 2005
Total Posts: 7193
Country: United States

Chris Anthony wrote:
Excellent image Mark! quick question, is the blend if slider in newer versions only? I Have cs3 and cannot find the tool. I'm really new to blending and have some images from Yosemite Id like to try and blend, I tried the merge to hdr with dismal results. Thanks for your time.


Well that is a good question. I started using the "Blend If" sliders after CS3 so I don't know. I assumed or thought they have been with PS a very long while. Try double clicking on the image icon (you have to have more than one layer) and see what happens.



Lightsearcher
Registered: Oct 14, 2011
Total Posts: 2328
Country: United States

Amazing how much detail you recovered from the original.

I like final result, beautiful picture.

Marcelo



Mark Metternich
Registered: Aug 01, 2005
Total Posts: 7193
Country: United States

allstarimaging wrote:
If you don't own photoshop but have Lightroom 4 are there plug in or stand alone software programs that will allow you to blend exposures to achieve this look? If so do you have any suggestions.
Jack


I just finished a Video Tutorial entitled "Blending for Dynamic Range Made Easy - Blend If" which would be a great help. You can check my website if you are interested.

Otherwise, I don't believe that a generic program will ever give you excellence in blending. It must be done manually to optimized results. That is why I make mention of this technique, because it is relatively easy, not complicated like masks are and yet produces all the power I need for my workflow (not to say I don't occasionally mask some other ways). Today with the power of ACR and especially its localized tools like the Graduated Adjustment Tool, images can be quite close before importing into Photoshop CS6. Then a tool like "Blend If" should get the rest done. That is a fact with my workflow (and what I teach) over 90% of the time.



Mark Metternich
Registered: Aug 01, 2005
Total Posts: 7193
Country: United States

DonH wrote:
Nice results, Mark.

Any difficulties with the Native population there? I understand that they are occasionally cracking down on access to this site.


We did not descend into the valley, so no problems. I have not heard of anyone having issues (except if they tried going into the valley). To my understanding in 2009, going down into the valley required a special permit from those specific natives.



1      
2
       3       4       end