A bit of advice for a newbie lighting
/forum/topic/1163771/0

Red 90
Total Posts: 156

A good friend of mine asked me to shoot at his wedding, which he was short on money and couldn't afford a photographer. I agreed to it with the stipulation that I am not a professional photographer and I cannot guarantee the results will be up to that standard. He understands that and is willing to accept whatever I take. Of course I'm doing it for free. Never the less, I still want to do a good job for him and it's a good learning experience for myself.

What I have a question on is the lighting for the dinner party. There will likely be a head table and approximately 10 guess tables. i don't think there will be a dance floor. I have in my aresenal of equipment 3 canont ettl flashes, light stands and simple triggers. Given how unpredictable where people are going to be relative to the lights, I was wondering how people figure out where to setup the lights and what power to shoot at. My initial thoughts are to place the lights in a diagonal cross lighting setup, and then have an on camera flash running on ettl for fill light. Maybe set the flashes that are on the light stands to about 1/3 power (I won't have the ability to remotely change the power). I'm not sure whether or not I should bounce or go direct flash.

Given that I'm using canon 580exII flashes, what would you say is the maximum distance I should allow between the two flashes? I don't think I'll be able to cover the entire venue like that, but probably just around where the head table is.

The other method is to forget about the off camera flash, keep on the on camera flash, boost up the iso to somewhere around 1200 to 1600 with some fill flash. However I usually find this setup pretty flat in terms of the results I get on people.

Also should I forget the simple triggers and go for the optical ettl?? It is indoors, but I've never found it to be very reliable.