Most waited Canon 1D X firmware v1.1.1 released!
/forum/topic/1158245/4

1       2       3       4      
5
       6       7       end

James Cripps
Registered: Jul 28, 2007
Total Posts: 315
Country: Canada

Received an email from Canon today about the firmware update and it says:

"Changes:
Firmware Version 1.1.1 incorporates the following improvements and fixes.
1. Enables the center AF point to autofocus when the camera is used with lens/extender combinations whose combined maximum aperture is f/8 (f/5.6 without the firmware update).
* Please see the "Lenses and Usable AF points" section of the revised instruction manual for more detail on the lens & camera combinations."

Is it only the center point which can AF at f/8?? :S



pompo
Registered: Aug 11, 2002
Total Posts: 608
Country: United States

I think is the center point of when you select the expanded type so the cluster of 5 can be anywhere and the middle ones focuses at f8 ...Thats what I though I read it does



James Cripps
Registered: Jul 28, 2007
Total Posts: 315
Country: Canada

Just downloaded the updated user manual from Canon and it is confirmed. Only the center point can be used in these circumstances.



Will Patterson
Registered: Nov 06, 2006
Total Posts: 4639
Country: United States

Installed it on mine, and I'm happy to see the little red boxes back Thank you Canon!



MSC
Registered: Feb 15, 2005
Total Posts: 11463
Country: United States

Will Patterson wrote:
Installed it on mine, and I'm happy to see the little red boxes back Thank you Canon!


Cool! Do they stay red or just red on half press? If only on half press, can you see them at all otherwise?



rgold1963
Registered: Oct 20, 2004
Total Posts: 448
Country: United States

Fred Miranda wrote:
Did anyone try autofocusing at f/8? If so, what are the initial impressions on speed/accuracy? To me, this was the biggest 'plus' of this update.



Just tried it with the 400DO and 2XIII. Definitely slower to AF with the 2XII on but that is pretty typical. AF accuracy was great though and I am happy to have f/8 AF ability once again. That was the only thing I missed about the MKIV when moving to the 1Dx.

Ron



Will Patterson
Registered: Nov 06, 2006
Total Posts: 4639
Country: United States

MSC wrote:
Will Patterson wrote:
Installed it on mine, and I'm happy to see the little red boxes back Thank you Canon!


Cool! Do they stay red or just red on half press? If only on half press, can you see them at all otherwise?


They flash whenever you half press the shutter, they're not on all the time which is what I like. Show me the AF point then go away so I get a nice clear view, but I still know where the AF point is because it was just there.



MSC
Registered: Feb 15, 2005
Total Posts: 11463
Country: United States

Will Patterson wrote:
MSC wrote:
Will Patterson wrote:
Installed it on mine, and I'm happy to see the little red boxes back Thank you Canon!


Cool! Do they stay red or just red on half press? If only on half press, can you see them at all otherwise?


They flash whenever you half press the shutter, they're not on all the time which is what I like. Show me the AF point then go away so I get a nice clear view, but I still know where the AF point is because it was just there.


Got it, thanks!



don mash
Registered: Aug 02, 2007
Total Posts: 455
Country: United States

so i upgraded to the 1.1.1 and nothing happened? There is not the extra menu and no red light. Crap I have to go shooting now, so will have to play afterwards.

Don



Will Patterson
Registered: Nov 06, 2006
Total Posts: 4639
Country: United States

don mash wrote:
so i upgraded to the 1.1.1 and nothing happened? There is not the extra menu and no red light. Crap I have to go shooting now, so will have to play afterwards.

Don


It's there. I forget exactly what menu, I think someone mentioned either in this thread or another one exactly where it is. But you press the "Q" button once you're in that menu to make changes to it as well.



teebat
Registered: Jun 17, 2005
Total Posts: 777
Country: United States

Will Patterson wrote:
MSC wrote:
Will Patterson wrote:
Installed it on mine, and I'm happy to see the little red boxes back Thank you Canon!


Cool! Do they stay red or just red on half press? If only on half press, can you see them at all otherwise?


They flash whenever you half press the shutter, they're not on all the time which is what I like. Show me the AF point then go away so I get a nice clear view, but I still know where the AF point is because it was just there.


Does it work in one shot mode too?



stanj
Registered: Aug 05, 2003
Total Posts: 9686
Country: United States

Will Patterson wrote:
Installed it on mine, and I'm happy to see the little red boxes back Thank you Canon!

MSC wrote:
Cool! Do they stay red or just red on half press? If only on half press, can you see them at all otherwise?

Will Patterson wrote:
They flash whenever you half press the shutter, they're not on all the time which is what I like. Show me the AF point then go away so I get a nice clear view, but I still know where the AF point is because it was just there.

teebat wrote:
Does it work in one shot mode too?


No.



stanj
Registered: Aug 05, 2003
Total Posts: 9686
Country: United States

don mash wrote:
so i upgraded to the 1.1.1 and nothing happened? There is not the extra menu and no red light. Crap I have to go shooting now, so will have to play afterwards.

Don


You have to press the Q button inside a menu. Read the full screen on the page of AF Point illumination. It's a footnote.



Will Patterson
Registered: Nov 06, 2006
Total Posts: 4639
Country: United States

stanj wrote:
Will Patterson wrote:
Installed it on mine, and I'm happy to see the little red boxes back Thank you Canon!

MSC wrote:
Cool! Do they stay red or just red on half press? If only on half press, can you see them at all otherwise?

Will Patterson wrote:
They flash whenever you half press the shutter, they're not on all the time which is what I like. Show me the AF point then go away so I get a nice clear view, but I still know where the AF point is because it was just there.

teebat wrote:
Does it work in one shot mode too?


No.



Not sure what you are referring to, but the red AF point DOES light up in One Shot mode.



I made a quick video to show (somewhat) the illumination change - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qvblwDEeR7k



Sheldon N
Registered: Feb 13, 2006
Total Posts: 662
Country: United States

teebat wrote:
Does it work in one shot mode too?


Will Patterson wrote:
the red AF point DOES light up in One Shot mode.


To clarify, it illuminates only after it has acquired focus, but it does not illuminate while searching for focus or before focusing starts. One Shot focus is unchanged with the new firmware, the only new thing is AI Servo blinking.

In AI Servo mode, the focus points begin blinking when you half press the shutter button to begin AF (or meter lock if you are a back button focus person). They continue blinking while you are actively tracking or attempting to acquire focus while the shutter button is half pressed. The active focus points blink for about 10 seconds after you lift your finger off the shutter button.

I personally turn off the grid and move the AF indicator out of the viewfinder area to help minimize the number of things that flash at me in the viewfinder.



Pixel Perfect
Registered: Aug 16, 2004
Total Posts: 19795
Country: Australia

James Cripps wrote:
Just downloaded the updated user manual from Canon and it is confirmed. Only the center point can be used in these circumstances.


But four surrounding points will assist AF of the centre point.



teebat
Registered: Jun 17, 2005
Total Posts: 777
Country: United States

Will Patterson wrote:
stanj wrote:
Will Patterson wrote:
Installed it on mine, and I'm happy to see the little red boxes back Thank you Canon!

MSC wrote:
Cool! Do they stay red or just red on half press? If only on half press, can you see them at all otherwise?

Will Patterson wrote:
They flash whenever you half press the shutter, they're not on all the time which is what I like. Show me the AF point then go away so I get a nice clear view, but I still know where the AF point is because it was just there.

teebat wrote:
Does it work in one shot mode too?


No.



Not sure what you are referring to, but the red AF point DOES light up in One Shot mode.



I made a quick video to show (somewhat) the illumination change - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qvblwDEeR7k


I just watched your video, thanks for that. The viewfinder flash is annoying, and I wish in one shot mode that it would stay red at least until you have achieved focus and then it can blink.

Why can't we just get a red af box like previous 1d models...



big country
Registered: Nov 27, 2006
Total Posts: 3566
Country: United States

i tried it w/ the 800mm 5.6 and 1.4x iii, and the 500mm ii w/ 2.0x iii. very pleased.



arbitrage
Registered: Jun 05, 2011
Total Posts: 6099
Country: Canada

Can someone check if the new flashing works if you use back button focus. I'm hoping it will flash while holding down the AF-ON in AI Servo.

Well actually, I'm really hoping it gets delivered for the 5D3 as I don't have a 1DX



Pixel Perfect
Registered: Aug 16, 2004
Total Posts: 19795
Country: Australia

arbitrage wrote:

Well actually, I'm really hoping it gets delivered for the 5D3 as I don't have a 1DX




+1



1       2       3       4      
5
       6       7       end