Most waited Canon 1D X firmware v1.1.1 released!
/forum/topic/1158245/3

1       2       3      
4
       5       6       7       end

Todd Klassy
Registered: Sep 27, 2010
Total Posts: 290
Country: United States

Ugh.



rscheffler
Registered: Aug 23, 2005
Total Posts: 4975
Country: Canada

A little OT, but since we're all discussing 1DX firmware.... did anyone notice degradation of AI-Servo tracking consistency with the update to 1.06 from the previous version (1.02, I think)? I updated to it a few weeks ago and have had a notable number of sports action sequences where the AF totally lost the subject mid sequence, which was much less of an occurrence at pre-update events...



spdntrxi
Registered: Oct 06, 2006
Total Posts: 405
Country: United States

mine flashes red when I move them in both oneshot and servo...

what is this supposed to do again.. I cant test the F8 yet.. I dont have any lens that slow



pompo
Registered: Aug 11, 2002
Total Posts: 610
Country: United States

its a joke... I turned it off already! oh man...



spdntrxi
Registered: Oct 06, 2006
Total Posts: 405
Country: United States

pompo wrote:
its a joke... I turned it off already! oh man...


how so.. people wanted "red" right ..



pompo
Registered: Aug 11, 2002
Total Posts: 610
Country: United States

man it blinks like a police car...all of the grid blinking! thats crazy I leave the sucker off



PetKal
Registered: Sep 06, 2007
Total Posts: 24762
Country: Canada

rscheffler wrote:
A little OT, but since we're all discussing 1DX firmware.... did anyone notice degradation of AI-Servo tracking consistency with the update to 1.06 from the previous version (1.02, I think)? I updated to it a few weeks ago and have had a notable number of sports action sequences where the AF totally lost the subject mid sequence, which was much less of an occurrence at pre-update events...


I seem to have noticed a bit of a performance drop on very fast targets.....just today my 1DX felt like 1DMkIIN....however, I made a mental note of it, but I haven't done enough shooting today to be able to form any more definitive conclusion. However, something does feel fishy.
More testing tomorrow.

That is a problem with updating a product on a piecemeal basis after the design had been done......a firmware update may fix one thing and inadvertently cause problems elsewhere.



Todd Klassy
Registered: Sep 27, 2010
Total Posts: 290
Country: United States

Pompo that is horrible news. I'm disgusted at the moment. This is the best Canon could do? Seriously?

I sure would like to meet the moron at Canon who approved this VF illumination change. He must be the single biggest imbecile in Japan.



spdntrxi
Registered: Oct 06, 2006
Total Posts: 405
Country: United States

pompo wrote:
man it blinks like a police car...all of the grid blinking! thats crazy I leave the sucker off


if the whole grid blinks it's because you have it set that way in the AF menu.. mine is set so that only the current AF box blink when it's moved.



rscheffler
Registered: Aug 23, 2005
Total Posts: 4975
Country: Canada

rscheffler wrote:
A little OT, but since we're all discussing 1DX firmware.... did anyone notice degradation of AI-Servo tracking consistency with the update to 1.06 from the previous version (1.02, I think)? I updated to it a few weeks ago and have had a notable number of sports action sequences where the AF totally lost the subject mid sequence, which was much less of an occurrence at pre-update events...

PetKal wrote:
I seem to have noticed a bit of a performance drop on very fast targets.....just today my 1DX felt like 1DMkIIN....however, I made a mental note of it, but I haven't done enough shooting today to be able to form any more definitive conclusion. However, something does feel fishy.
More testing tomorrow.

That is a problem with updating a product on a piecemeal basis after the design had been done......a firmware update may fix one thing and inadvertently cause problems elsewhere.


Thanks Peter. I'll be interested in your thoughts on this, and maybe it will be worth starting a separate thread.

The only reason I updated was because I like the feature that remembers separate AF point selections for horizontal and vertical shots... but turning on this feature caused it to often forget MFA settings (though figured out if the camera was set to never sleep, it at least wouldn't lose the MFA during a session), which 1.06 fixed...



ifxbonz
Registered: Mar 02, 2004
Total Posts: 1733
Country: United States

Why not steady illumination the blinking is distracting.........................

Andy



spdntrxi
Registered: Oct 06, 2006
Total Posts: 405
Country: United States

steady would be more distracting to me...



pompo
Registered: Aug 11, 2002
Total Posts: 610
Country: United States

spdntrxi wrote:
pompo wrote:
man it blinks like a police car...all of the grid blinking! thats crazy I leave the sucker off


if the whole grid blinks it's because you have it set that way in the AF menu.. mine is set so that only the current AF box blink when it's moved.



I know that, I tried to set it as you said, but then I won't know where "I can go" with my af point, AND the halo/glare still shows everywhere as well even if I set it as you said.



ifxbonz
Registered: Mar 02, 2004
Total Posts: 1733
Country: United States

spdntrxi wrote:
steady would be more distracting to me...


Thats what other 1d models do.

Hope my epilepsy doesn't kick in............

Andy



Sheldon N
Registered: Feb 13, 2006
Total Posts: 683
Country: United States

Just got it installed and gave it a brief test. I think I'm happy with it. For context I haven't run into daylight issues, only low light where I can't see the focus point. I shoot mainly in One Shot mode, with single focus point.

I set mine up to for Low Illumination mode, and I've got the DOF Preview/MFn button configured to toggle from One Shot to AI Servo.

What I'll do in the future is use the front MFn button to toggle AI Servo on, which also activates the blinking focus point allowing me to both find the point and focus simultaneously. I can let go of the MFn button if I want AI servo off and just hold my composition. Essentially I can turn on the blinking when I need it, not all the time.

I don't think it will be a distraction for outdoor use in proper AI servo mode, since the blinking isn't very noticeable in brighter conditions. Overall I'm pleased with the update and will use it.



pompo
Registered: Aug 11, 2002
Total Posts: 610
Country: United States

I'll have to try that



ciprian.trofin
Registered: Oct 18, 2009
Total Posts: 377
Country: Romania

An older CR post comes to mind:
there is a “solution coming” that “may not be ideal for everyone”

You've been warned



n0b0
Registered: Sep 22, 2008
Total Posts: 5654
Country: Australia

arbitrage wrote:
Sjjindra wrote:
WAYCOOL wrote:
Todd Klassy wrote:
Please update the 5D Mark III with the same firmware update, Canon, PLEASE.

+1

+ another 1

Anyone know of a physical reason the 5DIII couldn't handle the F8 focus and/or lighting the focus point(s) with a similar firmware upgrade?



Don't see any reason why the illumination couldn't be added. Also there is probably no reason the f/8 couldn't be added but I could see Canon holding this part back just to differentiate the cameras more. I really hope Canon will update the 5D3 with both these improvements but I won't hold my breath.

PS. We really need some thread merging!


f/8 focus has always been a 1D only feature no?

So either,
1. Canon hadn't quite finished the AF algorithm and rushed the 1DX or...
2. Canon relented to the numerous requests/complaints and decided to add it.

Either way, it must be a big relief for many 1DX owners.



Gust
Registered: Jan 11, 2009
Total Posts: 230
Country: Netherlands

fredmaurer wrote:
Good news this is available. Bad news is it doesn't work with Mountain Lion 10.8.2!


why, it doesn't work in ML?
I'm using 10.8.2, downloaded normally and extracted also, so what's the problem?



Fred Miranda
Registered: Dec 31, 2001
Total Posts: 17977
Country: United States

Did anyone try autofocusing at f/8? If so, what are the initial impressions on speed/accuracy? To me, this was the biggest 'plus' of this update.



1       2       3      
4
       5       6       7       end