Sekonic L-558 question
/forum/topic/1156716/0



iShoot
Registered: Dec 16, 2008
Total Posts: 414
Country: United States

Hello everyone,

I just acquired a L-558 and I can't seem to get it to shutter priority. I'm always in aperture priority. I keep scrolling and the "T" will not get highlighted. Any help is appreciated!



JohnBrose
Registered: Aug 06, 2004
Total Posts: 2167
Country: United States

Is it in incident mode or in flash? In flash measurement, I believe it will always be in aperture priority. There should be a manual you can find online somewhere.



iShoot
Registered: Dec 16, 2008
Total Posts: 414
Country: United States

Hello John,

I referred to the manual and I'm still stumped. It simply says use the jog wheel to get to the mode but still no dice. I'm in incident mode.



BrianO
Registered: Aug 21, 2008
Total Posts: 8566
Country: United States

Any luck yet, Don?



iShoot
Registered: Dec 16, 2008
Total Posts: 414
Country: United States

Sorry Brian, I've been shooting all week. Yes I managed to figure it out. The meter was throwing me off because when I went into the mode with the highlighted "T" (shutter priority) it gave me a F/S next to the number. I kept scrolling through the numbers and found what I wanted. Thank you so much!



BrianO
Registered: Aug 21, 2008
Total Posts: 8566
Country: United States

iShoot wrote: ...when I went into the mode with the highlighted "T" (shutter priority) it gave me a F/S next to the number...

Well, you've now discovered Sekonic's hidden bonus feature: the standard 558 and 758 have a subset of the Cine models' "Frames per Second" metering for shooting motion pictures. As you found, you just keep scrolling to get back to still-camera numbers.

Glad everything worked out.