Saw this image and just had to order the DP2M, couldn't fight it
/forum/topic/1155013/6

1       2       3              6      
       8       end

glacierpete
Total Posts: 148

douglasf13 wrote:
Glacierpete, have you compared the DP2M to the Sigma 30 on the Nex-7?

Douglas,
No I only have a 5n. In this focal range the G28 (has to be stopped down to f8) and CV 35 2.5 (has to be stopped down to f11) to get images sharp corner to corner and prevent color shift.
I will sell both lenses.

The foveon sensor is in many regards different to a bayer sensor. I am still learning to master it. The level of detail is extreme. I use it always with ISO 100 sometimes with 200 and raw. I have not seen any banding others mentioned. The software needs a lot of improvement. It has some problems with AUTO white balance and cyan skys (can be corrected). And the raw files have more information in their over and underexposed areas, than the software shows without tweaking it.
The camera shines with architecture / product shots and landscapes, as long as you can live with a fixed 30mm (APS) lens without tilt/shift. I have not seen any distortion or CA. And it is really sharp corner to corner without any color shift.
I have seen some nice BW people portraits on getdpi

In case you are considering a dp2m for your pro work, you might rent one first or buy one with the option to return it, in case it does not work for you. It fits my needs very well. For me it is a medium format (coat) pocket camera.

glacierpete
Total Posts: 148

ytwong wrote:
glacierpete wrote:
the image detail of the dp2m is on a medium/large format level

Are you saying that it is better than full-frame 35mm sensor? (say, D600)

ytwong