D800 left focusing problem - is it going away?
/forum/topic/1154218/4

1       2       3       4      
       end

Marshall Alsup
Total Posts: 79

JimmyChoo wrote:
From what I can see, all 4 images look almost the same. If you mixed them up I wouldn't be able to tell which is which.

If you tested correctly using a wide angle lens, then you're OK

Thanks You're making me feel better about it. When I look at the 100% view of the photograph hanging on the wall (the small one) in the versions with the left auto-focus use its more blurry (especially the 4th). Maybe I can fine tune that out? I've never used auto-focus fine tune before so I might try that.

Bruce Sawle
Total Posts: 4167

They all look the same to me. Hard to tell looks like you shot these under incandescent light which can cause focus errors. Before my camera was fixed there was a definitive difference between the left and right focus at all apertures. After the fix there is no difference.

JimmyChoo
Total Posts: 312

There you are, two similar opinions.
Fine tuning may be OK, just as long as they don't all look equally blurred.

How often do we look at 100% crops of our images? And from wide angle lens shots, on top of which.
I would relax if I were you. You haven't got a Nikon lemon.

ausemmao
Total Posts: 359

JimmyChoo wrote:

From what I can see, all 4 images look almost the same. If you mixed them up I wouldn't be able to tell which is which.

Really? They don't look the same at all to me.

Marshall, I'd run the test again as the last one might just have been a straight miss (happens occasionally). If that was the best of a few, either the body or the lens needs a check.

JimmyChoo

ausemmao wrote:
JimmyChoo wrote:

Marshall, I'd run the test again as the last one might just have been a straight miss (happens occasionally). If that was the best of a few, either the body or the lens needs a check.

Did you see that I wrote "almost"?

ausemmao
Total Posts: 359

JimmyChoo wrote:
ausemmao wrote: