Sigma DP2 Merrill: Have any of you tried it?
/forum/topic/1150855/83

1       2       3              83      
       85              91       92       end

Chrissearle
Total Posts: 232

Dartmoor 2 by Jeaunse23, on Flickr

Chrissearle
Total Posts: 232

Dartmoor 2 by Jeaunse23, on Flickr

nahte03
Total Posts: 22

I recently purchased the DP2M after seeing stunning images from the camera. I'm normally a wide-angle shooter and is thinking wide (near-far composition) when composing a scene. I'm still struggling with composing a scene with the 45mm focal length while achieving the near-far composition. I'm planning on stitching with the DP2M but have no experience with panorama gear so I'm still learning. The amazing image quality this camera produces considering the compactness of the camera just blows my mind away.

Over the weekend I was able to test drive the camera.

Looking Glass Falls by ChloEthan, on Flickr

andyjaggy82
Total Posts: 1325

I searched around the internet trying to find people's experiences with printing the files from the Merrill cameras, I could never find much information.

I did a quick test shot the other day and ordered a 20X30 print of it. I exported the image as double size from SPP, which gives you perfect resolution for a 20X30 print. I did just a very small level of sharpening on the upscaled file.

I got the print back and it looks amazing, I don't think you could squeeze much more detail into the print than is already there. I would feel comfortable printing a 24X36 with these files.

Sometimes the Merrill files look just a tiny bit crunchy and over sharpened to me, but it translates really well to prints, which is what I was expecting, but I wanted to confirm.

glacierpete
Total Posts: 148