Sigma DP2 Merrill: Have any of you tried it?
/forum/topic/1150855/68

1       2       3              68      
69
       70              91       92       end

Kibsgaard
Registered: Aug 21, 2007
Total Posts: 214
Country: Denmark

inglis wrote:
Kibsgaard,
+1, especially because I wear glasses, if you find a solution please share!


Hi inglis:

The only thing I can find - and have read other uses this for our camera - is this, but I do not think there is any dioptri:

(scroll down)

http://www.cameraquest.com/voigtacc.htm


it is also here:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/288043-REG/Voigtlander_45BA424A_Viewfinder_for_40mm.html



ernsthaas
Registered: Nov 09, 2003
Total Posts: 1444
Country: Austria

I entered the DP2M train 2 weeks ago. Still learning but so satisfied that tomorrow IŽll get my DP3M as well. Both will accompany me to Portugal next week. I hope to making some showable results. Unfortunately my Nikon D800e will stay at home.
One of the very first photos without post processing. I feel like in analog times. Take the photo and enjoy the result.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/arcaswissi/8437859677/in/set-72157632673583800



Chrissearle
Registered: May 22, 2012
Total Posts: 232
Country: France

My 5D3 has seen very little action of late.......


Talawe 2 by Jeaunse23, on Flickr



Werner_Utsch
Registered: Nov 09, 2008
Total Posts: 254
Country: Germany

Chrissearle:

very nice, great shot!



juan_amores
Registered: May 21, 2009
Total Posts: 485
Country: Spain


_SDI0520_ByN por John Loves, en Flickr


_SDI0519 por John Loves, en Flickr



cjrpostma
Registered: Sep 13, 2011
Total Posts: 91
Country: United States

Sigma Photo Pro 5.5 with monochrome mode is released. I just downloaded it and played for a bit. It is fun and I'm glad they are adding new features and improving the program. Zooming in when viewing full resolution RAW seems slower in 5.5.

Download here:
http://www.sigma-sd.com/download/photopro.html

At first I couldn't find where to go for monochrome mode, at the top of the adjustments box, there are now two tabs, color and monochrome. When you click monochrome, the new options are displayed.



Jede
Registered: Oct 09, 2005
Total Posts: 36
Country: Finland

I ended up selling my DP2M. I have room for one digital camera in my arsenal, and in the end of the day, the little Sigma was too restrictive. While it's great in what it does well (landscapes and still life), I found myself struggling with it in too many situations. It has got a new home with a dedicated landscape photographer, and I'm pursuing my love of photography with rangefinders. Maybe I'll give Foveon technology another chance later in my life.



ReneMurea
Registered: Aug 23, 2004
Total Posts: 1514
Country: United States

It looks like Sigma dropped the price by $200 to $799. Adorama has it in stock



photozero
Registered: Sep 01, 2004
Total Posts: 531
Country: United States

Just ordered one a B&H. I'll report back after It comes.



tsdevine
Registered: May 26, 2006
Total Posts: 1097
Country: United States


For those with the RRS grip/plates, this case works pretty nice...a little snug vertically but it has some nice padding to protect the camera.

Case Logic SLMC-200 Compact Systems Camera Case

-Tim



igluck
Registered: Mar 01, 2013
Total Posts: 1
Country: United States

photozero wrote:
Just ordered one a B&H. I'll report back after It comes.


I ordered one this afternoon as well. Looking forward to joining the cult.



photozero
Registered: Sep 01, 2004
Total Posts: 531
Country: United States

I cancelled my order from B&H thanks to ReneMurea's post above. It is indeed 799 at Adorama. Unless I'm missing something. Specs are the same as the one at B&H, etc. so why pay more?



photozero
Registered: Sep 01, 2004
Total Posts: 531
Country: United States

Oops! Sorry about that. Same price at B&H. It's the DP3 (different lens, etc.) that is more - 999 and not yet available. The DP2 is the same price at both B&H and Adorama. So take your pick.



rattymouse
Registered: Feb 04, 2006
Total Posts: 4604
Country: China

I'm in! I'm ordering the DP2M. Very rare that I catch the price breaks like this. A nice change.



cjrpostma
Registered: Sep 13, 2011
Total Posts: 91
Country: United States

Get ready to be really unimpressed with your other cameras' files when zooming to 100%.

Trust me.



kewlcanon
Registered: Mar 28, 2009
Total Posts: 4435
Country: United States

Only useful up to ISO 400 .



rattymouse
Registered: Feb 04, 2006
Total Posts: 4604
Country: China

kewlcanon wrote:
Only useful up to ISO 400 .


That's a problem only for the lazy.



kosmoskatten
Registered: Oct 11, 2005
Total Posts: 2981
Country: Sweden

Back in the film days I got by with ISO400 and mostly shot ISO100 film.
So for me, not a problem.

I do enjoy the decent high ISO of my Fuji X10 and other cameras but horses for courses.

I sold my DP2M (with some small regrets as the lens is a gem) but will keep my DP1M. Walking on the wide side.



kewlcanon
Registered: Mar 28, 2009
Total Posts: 4435
Country: United States

Did I shake your cage ?

rattymouse wrote:
kewlcanon wrote:
Only useful up to ISO 400 .


That's a problem only for the lazy.



kewlcanon
Registered: Mar 28, 2009
Total Posts: 4435
Country: United States

Thank you for your input!

kosmoskatten wrote:
Back in the film days I got by with ISO400 and mostly shot ISO100 film.
So for me, not a problem.

I do enjoy the decent high ISO of my Fuji X10 and other cameras but horses for courses.

I sold my DP2M (with some small regrets as the lens is a gem) but will keep my DP1M. Walking on the wide side.



1       2       3              68      
69
       70              91       92       end