1Dx versus D4
/forum/topic/1133870/1

end

Will Patterson
Total Posts: 4638

skibum5 wrote:
Will Patterson wrote:
I've been shooting digital for 8 years now and still don't understand why people worry so much about shadow noise. Expose it properly and it's a non-issue.

Because if the scene has a fair amount of DR you are in trouble with a correct exposure. You think everyone goes around not exposing properly on purpose and then complaining? (that said, even for mistakes, who wouldn't want to be able to rescue them)

Actually, yea, I think some people do just to find something to talk about, to be honest.

And these guys are cranking up the exposure by 3 stops in post, you'd never do that in post on a normal basis.

curious80
Total Posts: 1252

Will Patterson wrote:

Actually, yea, I think some people do just to find something to talk about, to be honest.

And these guys are cranking up the exposure by 3 stops in post, you'd never do that in post on a normal basis.

You might not do 3 stops recovery on a regular basis, but 1 or 2 stops recovery is not uncommon at all. Sometime the scene DR is just two much to capture without certain parts getting very dark and needing recovery. Other times you capture a moment where you didn't have time to adjust exposure and it comes out dark, and so on. Though its not to say that 1Dx did poorly, it might not be as good as D4 in that but the differences are probably not going to be noticeable at normal viewing sizes or print sizes. And at the end of the day it was obviously not the most important consideration for those photographers as the Nikon D4 guy eventually decided to switch over to Canon.

JeffG
Total Posts: 915

AGeoJO wrote:
LivLif wrote:
Great review! I can't believe the Canon is 3 times faster on AF speed.

Well, you are selling your D4, are you not ? Just kidding....