New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2004 · switch to a Leica 2?

nutek
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · switch to a Leica 2?

I'm currently using a D30 SLR with a few lenses (see sig), having moved up from a film SLR to a Powershot Pro90 before going to the D30. However, I find myself having less and less fun taking photographs. It's becoming a chore to bring such a heavy bag of camera equipment (I only bring selected lenses out on a trip, not all of them.. but it's still very heavy) out every time and then get bogged down with the hassle of changing lenses, filters, etc in the field. Plus I have to spend so much time converting the RAW images and tweaking them up (WB, sharpening, etc) during post-processing. Somehow the joy isn't there any more as compared to the days when I had minimal equipment. I'm not a pro, so I keep wondering why I try to keep up with all the L fever as well....

Now having seen the review on the Leica Digilux2 on dpreview, I am thinking of selling off my Canon system just to have one camera instead. The Digilux seems fast enough (in terms of operation and usability), and I think I can live with the noise levels... Am I crazy to do so? It's just that I want to have something light, yet is capable enough (operation speed, quality, etc) for moments of creativity when I do get them...

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks!

May 12, 2004 at 12:24 AM
chris78cpr
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · switch to a Leica 2?

Keep the canon gear and buy a more compact camera! Try using it for a month or so and then rethink if you want your canon gear!!! It will be a costly mistake if you sell it all and then realize you are not getting what you want from your all in one!!!