New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2010 · Wimberly WH-200 vs M-3.6

dolina
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Wimberly WH-200 vs M-3.6

Looking towards getting a 2nd gimbal head and I've narrowed it down to the Wimberley and the Mongoose.

I like the Wimberley because of the controls and no give but take issue with the weight. This makes the Mongoose M-3.6 tempting as it is half the weight and a weeks old product.

Any insight is invaluable.

Jun 14, 2010 at 09:36 AM
wtlloyd
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Wimberly WH-200 vs M-3.6

What lens do you intend to use on it?

My only gripe about the Wimberley is that you cannot set any "drag" or tension on the lock knobs in the new version. The old version Wimberley was excellent in that regard.
Now, it's either locked tight or too loose.

I know of the Mongoose heads, but I have no personal experience with them.

You would likely do far better putting this post in the Nature forum.

Jun 14, 2010 at 10:32 AM
SoundHound
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Wimberly WH-200 vs M-3.6

I have the Wimberley Mk II. It has the virtue of being able to adjust the rotational balance point of the lens/body combo to the Exact center of gravity. That means "Hands Off" balance with any combination or weight and fluid motion in any direction.

It works superbly with any weight of lens/body and is stable (after initial setup) so you can just plop your "Great White" into the QD clamp with no fear of tipover. I don't carry my tripod around much in the field so weight is an advantage to me (mass dampens vibration).