fredmiranda.com
Login

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
  New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist
  

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

       2       end
  

Archive 2009 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?

  
 
Paul_R_Canada
Offline
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


I'm looking to buy some quality filters for some canon "L" glass, I started a thread on what brands and have decided on B&W filters. In that thread MAXSAVER (aka Hvstar on ebay) out of Hong Kong was recommended.

At first I was quite excited by the low prices (who doesn't want to save a few bucks?) but I'm a digger and have unearthed some reviews and sites that claim these are fakes. now I'm unsure.

If I bought one I have absolutely no way of testing them to confrm they are legit and unless you have unit you can test filters neither can you.

This surfaced

http://mainlinephoto.wordpress.com/2009/07/15/name-them-and-shame-them-fake-filter-sellers-on-ebay-caught-redhanded/

searching the Schneider Optics USA site and looking through the listings of international sellers - there is only one in Hong Kong - and it's not MAXSAVER.

This Hong Kong seller might be seeding review sites, the boxes pictured look a bit different from the B&W boxes off the schneider site etc.

What am I after here? - I'm looking for some feedback from B&W purchasers, I'm trying to find out who's legit? I like a deal, but I'm not dropping $500+ on fakes - if I can't be sure I'll go somewhere I am sure. Suggestions for North American sellers?

I'd also like to hear from anyone that has purchased and had a bad experience or discovered they didn't get what they ordered (knock offs) , it would be good to have some knowledge and there's nothing like real life experience - and save someone else from a bad purchase at the very least.

I'm NOT trying to stir the pot, I just want the truth if I can find it.



Nov 02, 2009 at 06:18 PM
Alex Phan
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


i bought from them before and i can't really tell different from the one i bought from BH.

also, that article is a blog.



Nov 02, 2009 at 06:25 PM
Paul_R_Canada
Offline
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


Bubble wrote:
i bought from them before and i can't really tell different from the one i bought from BH.

also, that article is a blog.


Yes I'd noticed that - it just raises some red flags.



Nov 02, 2009 at 06:27 PM
Cliff L.
Offline
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


What difference does it make? If you're into compromising image quality by putting "protective" filters on all of your lenses, I doubt if you would notice the difference between a good filter and a cheap one... buy the cheap ones, save some money, and don't worry about it.


Nov 02, 2009 at 06:53 PM
Greg Feldman
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #5 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


Ouch. To be fair, one can also purchase polarizers and NDs from them.


Nov 02, 2009 at 07:01 PM
n0b0
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #6 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


Don't quote me on this but I heard that the B+W filters for the Asian market has slightly different look to them, maybe to differentiate the region since they can't possibly sell those filters at a European price, you know... like those DVD region 1/2/3/4 codes.

That blog says "the prices these guys sell them for is less than a distributors cost!". Well, the Australian RRP for 1Ds3 is almost double the American RRP. My point? Just because the Hongkong price is very cheap to them, doesn't necessarily means that they're fake. Different price for different market.

That blog also says "we order most of our stock 12 months in advance", which means they're also selling filters. Looks like they're just a disgruntled seller who's been undercut by those Asian ebay sellers. They also don't seem to have any concrete proof, just a bunch of accusations. Throw in a statistic to make it look more convicing.

Take it with a grain of salt.



Nov 02, 2009 at 07:01 PM
Mirek Elsner
Offline
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #7 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


I have four filters from them and they are not fakes.


Nov 02, 2009 at 07:07 PM
n0b0
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #8 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


molson wrote:
What difference does it make? If you're into compromising image quality by putting "protective" filters on all of your lenses, I doubt if you would notice the difference between a good filter and a cheap one... buy the cheap ones, save some money, and don't worry about it.





Nov 02, 2009 at 07:13 PM
Paul_R_Canada
Offline
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #9 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


n0b0 wrote:
Don't quote me on this but I heard that the B+W filters for the Asian market has slightly different look to them, maybe to differentiate the region since they can't possibly sell those filters at a European price, you know... like those DVD region 1/2/3/4 codes.

That blog says "". Well, the Australian RRP for 1Ds3 is almost double the American RRP. My point? Just because the Hongkong price is very cheap to them, doesn't necessarily means that they're fake. Different price for different market.

That blog also says "", which means they're also selling filters. Looks like they're just a disgruntled
...Show more

My problem, if you want to call it that, is I'm no longer sure. If I knew they were real B&W's I'd buy them.

I'm not basing this on that blog alone, reviews are mixed - I take all reviews with salt - I prefer a direct opinion (like this forum)

Thanks for the input



Nov 02, 2009 at 07:36 PM
Paul_R_Canada
Offline
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #10 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


Mirek Elsner wrote:
I have four filters from them and they are not fakes.


How do you know that?



Nov 02, 2009 at 07:37 PM
helimat
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #11 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


I have bought from them, they seem like the real deal, although I am not a filter 'expert'. I think n0b0 hit the nail on the head, the blog could just be a disgruntled seller who is having a hard time competing with the Asian sellers.


Nov 02, 2009 at 07:40 PM
Paul_R_Canada
Offline
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #12 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


Oh and nOBO I forgot to mention, I do understand that the prices can be drastically different world wide, we see it here too, there's some odd differences that has me wondering, the price only made me look twice and a bit deeper

The box, the schneider site shows all the boxes saying MADE IN GERMANY, the HK site does not and only one lens is advertised as made in germany. they also show aluminum not brass - is it possible they are made differently for the Asia market, I've heard of that too with other products.




Nov 02, 2009 at 07:44 PM
abam
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #13 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


"If you're into compromising image quality by putting "protective" filters on all of your lenses..."

god, not this sh!t again.



Nov 02, 2009 at 07:56 PM
helimat
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #14 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


abam wrote:
"If you're into compromising image quality by putting "protective" filters on all of your lenses..."

god, not this sh!t again.


Wait, is this a contentious issue?



Nov 02, 2009 at 08:19 PM
Paul_R_Canada
Offline
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #15 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


abam, you said it, I just ignored that whole thing, it's not worth the trouble or our time to dignify that

On a happier note I found another old thread on this very topic, I have to say the amount of positive FM feedback has calmed my nervousness some, I'll pock around some more on their site and see what pops up.

BTW if anyones interested the 08 thread was

https://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/630239

Thanks for the info !




Nov 02, 2009 at 08:23 PM
colinandrew
Offline
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #16 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


They are the real deal, just not marked up. I've got a few


Nov 03, 2009 at 12:45 AM
kodakeos
Offline
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #17 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


I just get mine @ B+H, for a 60-70$ filter, whats a few bucks more to make sure its legit.


Nov 03, 2009 at 02:31 AM
gheller
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #18 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


PM sent (to avoid the can of worms war)


Nov 03, 2009 at 02:54 AM
Dudewithoutape
Offline
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #19 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


Please do keep us posted, I find this very interesting and may someday purchase from them too. I have to save my money for now, otherwise I'd jump. Just bought a T1i.


Nov 03, 2009 at 03:00 AM
ClintCritchlow
Offline

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #20 · Filter sellers - legit or fakes ?


I ordered from them and was more than happy with them. They delivered the product very fast (I assume mail to San Francisco from HK will be faster than to most places) and everything went smooth. I was getting the B+W XS-Pro 82mm size so the price differences was $150-180 vs. $90. That was a big enough difference to try out the HK firm.

If they are fakes then they are about the best fakes that I have seen. They had halograms on the boxes and it was quality printing on the box. I'm no filter expert but they feel and look like the B + W or heliopan filters I have bought from legit US camera stores.




Nov 03, 2009 at 07:05 AM
       2       end




FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

       2       end
    
 

Welcome back
Log in to your account