fredmiranda.com
Login

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
  New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist
  

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

  

Archive 2008 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake

  
 
guillaumebegin
Offline

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


Hi everybody!

I bought a B+W MRC SLIM CIRCULAR-POL from HVStar ($139.50 instead of $174.95 at B&H) (http://cgi.ebay.com/B-W-77mm-MRC-SLIM-Circular-Polarizer-Filter-NEW_W0QQitemZ300209127633QQihZ020QQcategoryZ15217QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem) The filter seems genuine but I never own other B+W filters before. Now, I want to buy 77mm B+W MRC UV #10 Brass filters for my three lenses. I read a lot of stuff about some "potential" fake filters and HVStar. I am now asking myself if I should buy again from them.

My three filter would cost at HVStar : 3 * 60.50 -> $181.50

and from B&H: $239.85 a $19.45 by filter...

A lot of Fred Miranda membres seem to recommand HVStar... HELP Please



Mar 27, 2008 at 02:58 PM
dcains
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


I've got at least a half dozen B+W filters from HVStar (maxsaver, besteastern), and have been 100% satisfied with their customer service and prices. The filters are genuine B+W.

Consider, though, if you really need to be using a UV filter all the time. That's as far as I'm going with that discussion, though.



Mar 27, 2008 at 03:51 PM
howardm4
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


doublecheck the part numbers. As I recall, hvstar may be selling the uncoated or single-coated version, not exactly the same as B&H


Mar 27, 2008 at 04:05 PM
dcains
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #4 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


If these are the ones you're looking at:

http://hvstar.net/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=33

they're the ones to get.



Mar 27, 2008 at 04:08 PM
eos-m42guy
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #5 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


Like dcains, I've bought 4 or 5 B+Ws from HVStar and have always received the genuine product....with never any misrepresentation or substitution. I think you'll find many here on FM who have actually bought from them will concur.


Mar 27, 2008 at 04:34 PM
jhom
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #6 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


I've corresponded with hvstar regarding whether they sell genuine B+W filters. They responded that they did. I have no reason not to believe them. All the B+W, Hoyas, and Kenko filters I have bought from them appear genuine to me. The only issue about the B+Ws is whether they have alloy or brass ring mounts. According to B+W Germany, the ring material may vary according to region but the glass is Schott. Personally, it doesn't matter to me if it is alloy or brass. Both work fine. The main issue for me is the glass. I have not seen any IQ differences amoung any of my filters no matter the brand as long as I am using the higher quality multicoated versions.

Jim



Mar 27, 2008 at 04:57 PM
howardm4
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #7 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


I want to say that I was not accusing them of misrepresentation. It's a fact that B+W make several versions and an un-witting buyer may not know that.


Mar 27, 2008 at 05:16 PM
jcolwell
Offline
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #8 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


I've bought a number of filters from HVStar. I'm confident they're all the real thing; including a 77mm B+W MRC KSM Circular Polarizer, which is pretty hard to fake.

Edited on Mar 27, 2008 at 05:35 PM



Mar 27, 2008 at 05:35 PM
eos-m42guy
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #9 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


howardm4 wrote:
I want to say that I was not accusing them of misrepresentation. It's a fact that B+W make several versions and an un-witting buyer may not know that.


Howard -- I realize you weren't accusing them of misrepresentation. Sorry, if you interpreted my post that way. I was referring to dcain's post of 'what you see is what you get'. Plus they picture the box with the B+W product number and you can verify this number at B+W's site if you are uncertain. HVStar also carries various grades (coated, uncoated etc) of B+W filters as does B&H. Therefore it is up to the buyer to do his homework prior to buying from B&H, HVStar, Adorama or whoever.

Regarding jhom's post about alloy or brass, if you check the link Dean posted you'll see that HVStar now includes 'brass' in their description. I believe that's fairly new.
http://hvstar.net/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=33



Mar 27, 2008 at 06:27 PM
guillaumebegin
Offline

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #10 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


dcains wrote:
If these are the ones you're looking at:

http://hvstar.net/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=33

they're the ones to get.


That exactly the thing I was looking at



Mar 27, 2008 at 08:49 PM
claudermilk
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #11 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


I've also purchased filters from hvstar (maxsaver) and they are legit. There's not "a lot" of posting about possibly fake B+W, and every single time the issue was brought up it was someone in your position & was refuted every single time by past customers. As indicated earlier in this thread, the only new development is they are now offering the cheaper aluminum alloy version where they used to only offer the better brass ones. Just read the descriptions carefully to make sure you get what you are after. Best thing to do is verify the part numbers.

BTW, looking at your profile, I would not bother with the expense of the slim version. You don't need it (1.6 crop bodies are good for any rectilinear lens you can throw on them out to at least 12mm from personal experience). I'd suggest this one instead, a nicer filter for a bit less.



Mar 28, 2008 at 11:08 AM
v. schrijver
Offline
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #12 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


I have bought my Ksm 77 mm cp filter from HV star and I think they have excellent service.The first one I received had a loose glass part in it but I got it replaced with a good one without discussion.
It is genuine B+W.
I would be very surprised if it was a fake.



Mar 29, 2008 at 06:30 AM
Mike Ganz
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #13 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


I use Hvstar exclusively for all of my B+W filters (Kaesemann CPLs, NDs, UV, etc). So far, I have had no reason to doubt their authenticity. Believe me...if hvstar was selling counterfeit filters, the news would have been all over the internet by now.


Mar 30, 2008 at 07:34 AM
Cableaddict
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #14 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


Digging up this old thread-

The link from dcains now goes to a website for MaxSaver. Is this a new name for the old company hvstar, or a different entity?

Are they as trustworthy, regarding genuine merchandise? (and has anyone ever checked with Hoya, BW, etc?)

Looking for a few top filters, but there are so many bloody fakes out their with perfect cosmetics & boxes. I want to be sure.

-thanks



Mar 15, 2009 at 07:36 AM
dcains
Offline
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #15 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


I bought a few B+W MRC CPL's just before Christmas to give as a gift. Same company (best eastern, hvstar, maxsaver), same great service, and genuine product. They also sell quite a bit on eBay, with exemplary feedback.


Mar 15, 2009 at 07:43 AM
trenchmonkey
Offline
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #16 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


+1 It comes down to KNOWING WHAT YOU'RE ORDERING. Multiple orders from them myself, always the genuine product
at a great price. Don't mind waiting a few days longer to save big money. Just shows ya how much
the "big boys" mark up filters....it's their cash cow, people! Don't even get me started on the $70 markup
on the Kenko DG TC's Shop around...it's your money!!



Mar 15, 2009 at 08:10 AM
Cableaddict
Offline
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #17 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


Thanks, guys.


Mar 15, 2009 at 09:45 AM
Zenon Char
Offline
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #18 · HVStar Deal or not Deal Fake or not Fake


I did not want to start a new thread. I used to order from HVstar but that was years ago. I need a B+W CPL. What is current and who can I trust? Not sure if there is a more current thread.

Thanks in advance.



Sep 05, 2015 at 04:40 PM





FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

    
 

Welcome back
Log in to your account