Home · Register · Software · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

3       end

Archive 2005 · Travel Photo - Ditch the SLR?

ikzook
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Travel Photo - Ditch the SLR?

I did a similar two years in the Netherlands and Belgium years ago before digital, I know missionaries who packed SLR's (security wasn't an issure) but I made do very nicely with Canon range finder, which I still have. When I started shooting again a couple of years ago I started with a Canon G2. The Canon G6 is what is available now you may find that this fits your needs, enough flexability but still small enough not to gather too much attention and sliver so it looks more consumer which should help you blend in as being more of a consumer camera. You don't have to worry about lenses etc. and it does have some manual controls if you feel like shooting that way.

If I were traveling under similar conditions as I did when I was a missionary I would consider it to be an ideal balance between competeting needs/wants. It is light enough to be carried all day but still produces very usuable images. I've sold a few of mine from my G2, printed up to 24x30 framed and hanging in a commercial building in Salt Lake, they have purchased the same size images from a local gallery shot by professionals on film and the customer is just has happy with G2 photos, so I would expect the images from the G6 to hold up just as well. I know a number of serious 10D/20D shooters who have the G6 for travel shooting when they need to travel light.

I just had a publisher from Provo use one my G2 photos from Palmyra on the cover of a collection of music written by Gerald R. Lund and it turned out very nice, much nicer than I expected it to.