Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

end

Archive 2005 · Which one would you pick?

moondigger
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Which one would you pick?

I think rycelover's rant is way off base.

Nobody is recommending alternatives to the choices he asked for because we want to confuse him. We're trying to be helpful. Your opinion of what's helpful is to just answer his question outright -- which of those two lenses should he buy?

What would happen if everybody simply gave him an answer? He'd probably be back in a month asking followup questions that would lead him to the answers we're giving him now.

I've been doing photography for almost 20 years, and have been answering questions about technique, gear, etc on the internet for the past 12 years, including working as a moderator at one of the biggest photography sites on the web. I'm answering the question he asked in the best way I know how -- trying to head off the nearly inevitable mistakes people tend to make when purchasing gear. I have made plenty of mistakes myself in the past 20 years and would have appreciated it if somebody at least tried to warn me ahead of time.

FWIW, I did answer his question, and defended the performance of the 24-85 lens. But then it occurred to me that maybe he should look at his situation a different way.

In the end, I actually gave him advice about photography specific to his current situation. What did your post accomplish?

Jan 25, 2005 at 04:26 PM
lovcom
• • •
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Which one would you pick?

Rycelover,

All the responses here are valuable. Nobody put you in charge as editor.

He asked a question, he gets varied views, varied angles, and varied opinions.

That is the way this site works. Nobody was trying to mess with him.