New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2005 · Filter System

andy1100xx
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Filter System

hi all
After many years away I've discovered my love for photography again and have recently updated my old equipment to some new quality kit. I have found this forum invaluable in selecting what gear to get so thanks to all.

My next required buy is a filter system. I've decided on a mount/adaptor system as I have lenses of different diameters. After looking through the archives it looks as though some people seem to have met a food cost/quality compromise by using the Cokin P mount (cheap but good) with better quality filters from companies like Lee. However, all the info i can find indicates that they are different sizes (Cokin P = 85mm, Lee filters 100mm). Am I missing something here? Can they be used together?

Also, any general opinions on the best value filter systems etc would be useful. I am not a pro and I'm not looking to spend a fortune but I do want something that will give good results.

Thanks in advance for any advice
AndyD

Jan 19, 2005 at 05:40 AM
Ned Fenimore
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Filter System

I just purchased my filters and Cokin P holder recently. I can speak from my research that the filters from Lee are a little less than say, Singh Ray - but the holder is expensive. The Cokin is very inexpensive, and appears to be fine for the job. I went with the Cokin P and two of the Singh Ray neutral grads. The two filters, P holder and adaptor ring was about $220 or so. The filters for the P series are 85 mm, but are a lot longer in length, allowing a range of movement in the holder. It seems to be perfectly adequate with the lenses listed in my byline. I picked Singh Ray because they can be counted upon for f/stop accuracy.

By the way, I went with a 2 stop and 3 stop soft graduation on both filters.

Jan 19, 2005 at 06:20 AM
andy1100xx
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Filter System