New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2005 · Feisol CF Tripod?

radamo
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Feisol CF Tripod?

I am just beginning my hunt for a reasonable cost, light, sturdy tripod. I have run accross a Chinese brand called Feison. So far I have only seen positive comments. Has anyone here actually seen or used one? Are they very sturdy? How do they compare with something like the Gitzo CF's?
Thanks for any comments.
RA

Jan 04, 2005 at 05:48 PM
Ed Peters
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Feisol CF Tripod?

I don't have a Gitzo, so I can't compare. I think it is an excellent value, light and easy to work with. I do not use it for the Sigma 300-800.

Jan 04, 2005 at 05:57 PM
jeffshoaf
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Feisol CF Tripod?

I have a Feisol monopod and like it a lot. The foot is just a nylon chair leg tip, but other than that, it seems to be really well made. There's been several threads in the past here on Feisol tripods; you might try searching the archive to get more opinions.

Jan 04, 2005 at 06:10 PM
nutek
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Feisol CF Tripod?

I have the first generation Feisol CT3301 tripod. It's very light, only 1.1kg without head, so it's very nice for travelling. It's way too short even with the center column fully extended for me (5' 11), so you might want to check out the max height specifications before you buy. Also, if you decide to buy, get the second generation model - it has a removable center column (which my first version does not have) that allows for even closer-to-the-ground operation, as well as padded legs (CF does get cold too...).

Jan 04, 2005 at 06:16 PM
radamo
• •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Feisol CF Tripod?

Ed Peters wrote:
I don't have a Gitzo, so I can't compare. I think it is an excellent value, light and easy to work with. I do not use it for the Sigma 300-800.

Ed,