Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

1       2       3              16      
       18              20       21       end

Archive 2016 · Could you go back to film?

jj_glos
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.17 #1 · p.17 #1 · Could you go back to film?

George Orwell wrote:
That's you, not me. I'm not a pro so dont have cameras with that capability.

A ridiculously half baked comment. The scenario that I wrote about, actually happened. Do you really need to resort to such extremes in order to defend digital? I showed clearly that digital technology can fail. The follow up suggestion that carrying around a laptop to catch such problems isnt going to happen with a non pro like me. I did a little checking while out shooting today. Saw a bunch of families out enjoying the relatively warm weather. Many shooting their kids in the
...Show more

Not as half baked as complaining about hot pixels, which is really a minor issue. Did your sensor actually die? Lightroom 2 did mask out hot pixels during the RAW import process, were you shooting RAW or jpeg? More likely is a card failure, but even those are relativity uncommon. I've never lost a film though, but had a couple back from the lab with the prints backwards!

Digital may make it easier to take many more photographs, but that does not devalue the photos taken at all. If the photos taken have no value then that is down to the photographer not the medium used.

My bother actually does download to a tablet straight away via WiFi when he's out shooting. I think he's mad as I like to just enjoy myself when I'm out and about and leave pp to when I get home. I have occasionally used the functionality, but that's more to drop something quickly into Snapseed and share it.