1       2      
       4       5       end

Archive 2015 · Interesting Reference Data on Dynamic Range - 5dsr

ggreene
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #1 · p.3 #1 · Interesting Reference Data on Dynamic Range - 5dsr

KKFung wrote:
I don't want to dig into those scientific DR data too much (though I graduated from engineering) but I can share some actual use of the camera, I have both 1Dx and the brand new 5DsR, I found the raw file from them is quiet different in presenting the dark tone in the first place. In 100% look and shadow push the 5DsR have cleaner shadow, 1Dx still have some banding when push over 3EV. However in actual post processing I seldom need to push that much on 1Dx like the 5DsR's

Spectacular view KKFung! Looking at the finished images I would say that both camera's are providing incredible IQ. With all the whining on forums about how far behind Canon is it's good to see the quality of actual use.

Aug 16, 2015 at 12:33 PM
Rajan Parrikar
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.3 #2 · p.3 #2 · Interesting Reference Data on Dynamic Range - 5dsr

gdanmitchell wrote:
And the notion that "this is a technical forum" (which we hear from time to time), while true, suggests a very limited idea of the purpose of the "technical," perhaps that the technology itself and for its own singular sake is the only thing.
Dan

Nobody has claimed such a thing. But if one wants to get on the soapbox and preach it helps to dream up such a strawman.

Furthermore, there are perhaps a few to whom technology/gear is the only thing and for whom an interest in the process of making photographs is non-existent or a distant second. They should be able to participate here without scolds interrupting them with boring homilies.

Aug 16, 2015 at 12:55 PM
mttran
• • • • •
p.3 #3 · p.3 #3 · Interesting Reference Data on Dynamic Range - 5dsr

Maybe an exposure latitude of D750 and 5DS in post to refresh some biased minds how the IQ can be improved from a better DR cam: