New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Pany 12-35 f/2.8: Users?

OntheRez
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Pany 12-35 f/2.8: Users?

I recently acquired a lightly used Oly OM-D (Thanks, JR). Like the camera very much though I'm still learning my way around it. Since I shoot 1D(s) professionally my fingers already think they know what they are doing. Of course, they're wrong

I have a Pany 20mm f/1.7 on it and it makes for a small, nice IQ camera. I'm looking for something in the way of a fast zoom for more flexibility and have been considering the Pany 12-35 f/2.8 as it would be a fast "normal" zoom. Photozone likes the lens well enough but is critical of its edge sharpness and higher than normal CA. On a Pany cam this is largely corrected in camera, but of course the Oly doesn't do this. Their conclusion was that it is a nice lens, but doubted that it was really worth its lofty price.

So, are any of you using this in real world work? I recognize that Photozone largely does a technical analysis so it's possible that their concerns aren't important in the field. I did examine their full size images and even when shot with a Pany cam the CA is visible in some situations and the shot of the cathedral is distorted at least to my eye.

Would really appreciate feedback from users as on paper the lens is exactly what I need.

Robert

Jun 08, 2013 at 11:19 AM
jhinkey
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Pany 12-35 f/2.8: Users?

Been using mine on my GH-2 for a while now and as an owner of a D800 + a lot of excellent FX glass (primes and zooms) I must say that I'm very very happy with it.