Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Eizo monitor question

Candrews9

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Eizo monitor question

I am looking to upgrade my primary monitor. Here's the background.

I shoot lots of street portraits and print them at 20x30 and 18x24 primarily. They go into exhibits of 50 to 100 at a time, and I use Costco or Elco Color now for printing usually. I am now building a portfolio of nudes for gallery sales, and I have no experience in fine art printing.

I work 95% in Lightroom with a primary monitor to show the final shot by itself and a secondary monitor for working with files and doing things like local adjustments in LR. My primary monitor is a Viewsonic with a 1200 x 1600 resolution. I keep it reasonably tuned with an xrite device. I am generally pleased with the results I get, judging primarily by whether the output matches a gen 4 iPad.

I plan to move my ViewSonic to be the secondary file and local adjustment monitor and get a new Eizo for the finished photo look. I suffer a lot from eye strain, and I am hoping getting rid of my consumer file monitor will help with that.

I am starting my path towards learning printmaking, and want to set myself up well with the monitor. I am looking at Eizo because it appears to be reputable, and if I start bringing other devices into the mix, I will have a huge analysis paralysis moment.

On B&H, a top dog is the CG246-BK 24" Widescreen LED Backlit LCD Monitor with Integrated Measurement Device ($2,289). The best seller is ColorEdge CG223W 22" Widescreen LCD Display ($1,120).

So here are my questions: