Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Alternative Gear & Lenses | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Medium Format Digital Backs (Mamiya ZD)

AHPZuazua
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Medium Format Digital Backs (Mamiya ZD)

I'm new to Medium Format and was wondering on the Shot Counter on Digital backs comoared to the ShutterCount on a DSLR. I have a 5D that I just replaced the shutter and box assembly with 292K on the shutter
I'm looking into a
Mamiya ZD 22mp Digital Camera System which from what I read is a Mamiya Digital back and a Mamiya 645AFD II camera.
I see them used at BH and ebay.
Is it worth selling my gear for the higher MP cound that this new system will afford me. I'm printing these family portraits for my clients at 30x40
Thanks
Reuben
5D and 1D Mark 2 is what I use with some nice lenses

May 06, 2013 at 09:34 PM
mawz
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · Medium Format Digital Backs (Mamiya ZD)

First off, be careful about exactly which package you are getting. The ZD is both a DSLR and a Back solution. You may be looking at either a ZD camera or a ZD back with an AFDII camera, the latter is to be greatly preferred.

That said, I'd only consider a ZD setup if I had a solid investment in 645AF lenses already. You will not be able to use the latest & greatest 645AF lenses like the new Schneiders, which require the AFDIII and later and the back is ragingly obsolete and was somewhat quirky even when new.

You will likely get better value for your money buy going to a D800-based setup or biting the bullet and going to a less obsolete MFDB/MFDSLR setup from PhaseOne or Pentax.

May 06, 2013 at 11:54 PM
AHPZuazua
• • •
p.1 #3 · Medium Format Digital Backs (Mamiya ZD)