Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Which Standard Zoom for D7100?

Patrick Cox
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Which Standard Zoom for D7100?

I am new to Nikon and am considering a standard zoom lens for my new D7100. Generally I would prefer a fast zoom and my bias would be towards wide angle vs tele. So that means something starting in 17 range. I like the idea of a smaller lens like the Sigma or Tamron but if the Nikon brand is worth the added size, I would go that route. Thanks for voting and for providing any other comments.

May 05, 2013 at 03:06 AM
lxdesign
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · Which Standard Zoom for D7100?

I went with the 17-55 based on the choices presented -- I think you would be happy with that lens. Back when I was shooting primarily DX bodies - I used a 28-70 as my primary zoom, but always found 28mm a bit narrow in Dx mode. So I paired it with a Tokina 12-24. But now with FX, I use the 14-24, 24-70 for wide shooting.

May 05, 2013 at 03:48 AM
RRRoger
• • •
p.1 #3 · Which Standard Zoom for D7100?

My alltime favorite lens:
AF-S Nikkor 28-300
I have two and use them with the D7100, D600, and D800

May 05, 2013 at 04:13 AM
tjny
• • •
p.1 #4 · Which Standard Zoom for D7100?

There is nothing like Nikon 16-85 vr. I have it since my D200, D300, D7K and now D 7.1. With D 7100 's high iso capabilities and auto focus sensitivity to f8 I don't feel need for a F 2.8 lense.
It just puzzles me why someone needs a big heavy expensive zoom with limited zoom ratio and no VR? Fast is a fashion statement or real need?

May 05, 2013 at 06:50 AM
evan47

p.1 #5 · Which Standard Zoom for D7100?