Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Ranger Quadra vs Einstein vs Hot Shoe Flash Power Comparison!

derbarrett
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Ranger Quadra vs Einstein vs Hot Shoe Flash Power Comparison!

I've been lusting over Elinchrom Ranger Quadra for a quite a few months now and last week I lucked up and snagged a killer deal on a like new Elinchrom Ranger Quadra RX kit ($825). The light just arrived today and for those of you who may be intrested I was able to do some quick comparison test this evening. I couldn't really find anything like this when I was trying to compare the power output of hot shoe flashes vs moonlights so hopefully this will be useful to someone.

Parameters : Distance = 14ft, ISO = 100, Shutter = 1/200, 24x24 softbox (double baffled).

1. (1) YN 560ii zoomed in @105 (full power) = f2.8
2. (2) YN 560ii zoomed in @105 (full power) = f4.0
3. (1) Einstein E640 @ 400ws (technically 394ws) = f7.1
4. (1) Ranger Quadra @ 400ws (full power) = f7.1
5. (1) Einstein E640 @ 640ws (full power) = f9.0

I also did a very quick bare bulb test around 14ft and to my surprise I got f13 from both Ranger Quadra and (2) hotshot flashes…. this was just a function a of tighter light spread coming from the hot shoe flashes hitting the light meter vs a much wider spread from the Quadra. I hope this info is useful to those of you out there that may be thinking about upgrading your lighting kit!!

Apr 30, 2013 at 08:39 PM
visnew

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Ranger Quadra vs Einstein vs Hot Shoe Flash Power Comparison!

wow - thanks for the great info. I've been trying to compare the power from speedlights and a Einstein and this is the best I've seen. If I'm reading your numbers correctly, I think it means I'll need five YN560II's to get close to the Einstein's power. Is that right?

Apr 30, 2013 at 09:11 PM
CraigB1960