Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · What Camera/Lens to Get?

midreal

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · What Camera/Lens to Get?

Hi,

I'm thinking of buying a new camera. Main application will be low light shooting of models, full body & closeup.
Need auto-focus as fast as possible & good low light performance.
Another feature I need from the camera is being able to view & shoot the pictures right away on my laptop when connected with a cable.
Don't care about megapixels, the pictures will be for websites only, not for print.

I'm a hobbyist, not a professional photographer.

I've been using Canon 10D for product pictures on eCommerce sites for the past few years and I like the quality of pictures on it quite well. Sometimes it has problems with capturing mid pink/purple colors, but other than that I've been happy with picture quality. What I don't like about it is focus speed, since for product pictures I use manual focus anyways obviously it wasn't a problem till now. With models moving it becomes an issue.

I'm eyeing used Canon 1D Mark 2 at the moment, which seems could be had for a great price. I have no clue about lenses, so I could really use some help here even more.
Considering that this is more of a hobby I prefer to stay within 1K for the whole package used.

Apr 29, 2013 at 08:29 PM
Tom Harpstead
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · What Camera/Lens to Get?

midreal,

Welcome to FredMiramda (FM)
If I were you, and it looks like you are going to stick with Canon, I would get a 100mm macro or it's younger sister the 100mm macro L lens. Both will be wicked sharp on the 1D.

Tom

Apr 29, 2013 at 09:45 PM
midreal

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · What Camera/Lens to Get?

Thanks Tom.