Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Crew ... anybody have words of wisdom for a rowing newb?

gtjohnson
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Crew ... anybody have words of wisdom for a rowing newb?

I'm shooting crew for the first time tomorrow. Never been to a rowing event so I have very little knowledge of what to expect. They are HS seniors and these will be used for individual collages that will be presented at their banquet. I'd like one full boat shot - I'm told that most of them are in two different 8-man boats - and one tight individual shot of each senior. I have three other events as backup if I don't get this one right, but I'd like to hit the streets running if I can.

I welcome any advice or tips that'll steer me in the right direction (as long as it doesn't involve me spending money on more gear ... ).

My gear is likely to be either the 1d3 + 1.4 + 100-400 @f8 or the T2i + 100-400 @f5.6 for when they're out on the water.

Thanks!
Gary

Apr 20, 2013 at 07:42 PM
awacs
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · Crew ... anybody have words of wisdom for a rowing newb?

As a former competitive racers (but before my time as a photog), when you take the full boat pic, try to grab it at the "catch." That's the exact moment that the oars enter the water. That's a visual moment of anticipation that even a non-rower will recognize.

GLWshoot. There's not a lot of variety in crew, except for faces expressing more and more pain as the race progresses. It's mostly about the intensity and the effort.

Aram

Apr 20, 2013 at 07:50 PM
gtjohnson
• • •
p.1 #3 · Crew ... anybody have words of wisdom for a rowing newb?

Thanks Aram. I'll use that tip ...

Apr 20, 2013 at 08:28 PM
MattRyan5

p.1 #4 · Crew ... anybody have words of wisdom for a rowing newb?