Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Muslin Storage

DGC1
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Muslin Storage

I'm new to muslin backgrounds and am curious about storing them. I'd like to keep them wrinkle free so the only thing I can think of is a nine foot length of PVC to roll them up on. Any suggestions?

Mar 27, 2013 at 08:46 PM
RustyBug
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · Muslin Storage

I happen to be sitting next to a quilter. She says that some folks will use the foam "noodle" flotation devices to roll their quilts / fabric on to keep them wrinkle free for transport to competition/shows etc. Maybe a couple of those end-to-end could cover the span, or shorter with only a nominal amount of folding involved.

Mar 27, 2013 at 11:01 PM
Gregg Heckler
• • •
p.1 #3 · Muslin Storage

Unless you have the space to roll them up just fold them, put them in a bag, and buy yourself a nice steamer..

Mar 27, 2013 at 11:37 PM
BrianO
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · Muslin Storage

DGC1 wrote:
I'm new to muslin backgrounds and am curious about storing them. I'd like to keep them wrinkle free so the only thing I can think of is a nine foot length of PVC to roll them up on. Any suggestions?

I fold mine in thirds and then roll them on a 3-foot-long cardboard tube. There are two vertical creases on them that I can take out in Photoshop if I'm shooting with enough DoF and lit in such a way that they show.

I thought about getting a steamer, and steaming out the creases after they were set up, but I decided Photoshop Elements (which I use for other things anyway) was easier.

Mar 29, 2013 at 04:02 AM
Gregg Heckler
• • •
p.1 #5 · Muslin Storage

Brian,