Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2013 · Am I crazy to consider ditching Profoto?

johnvanr
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Am I crazy to consider ditching Profoto?

I'm an amateur. I hardly ever shoot in the studio these days.

Over the years, I've built up a collection of Profoto equipment at mostly second-hand prices: an Acute 1200 pack with three lights; two soft boxes, the beauty dish with grid, the magnum reflector plus some third-brand modifiers equipped with Profoto speedrings. Last week, I also picked up two Profoto monolights on eBay.

It was at the moment the Fedex guy handed me the monolight package that I started doubting my purchase.

Here I am with all this equipment that I hardly use but that at the same time doesn't really lose much value and that will still work in the future when I have the opportunity to use it again. But which also costs a fortune to fix if anything breaks. It works like a dream overall, but it's hard to stop down power. That's Profoto.

I've been wondering if I should sell the stuff and switch to something else, like Elinchrom (couple of monolights and the Quadra set or one ranger for location work (which I now don't have a solution for beyond cheap speed lights). I could keep most modifiers, I think, and get speedrings for Elinchrom.

Am I delusional to consider selling this top-notch stuff?

Mar 07, 2013 at 08:55 AM
myam203
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Am I crazy to consider ditching Profoto?

I don't think it's such a bad idea. I've bought and sold gear a lot over the years and as long as I'm not losing features I need or enjoy, it's no big deal.