Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · urgent advice needed

Vlad_IT
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · urgent advice needed

Hi all, I thought my question would be very appropriate for this forum as possible money will change hands.

I have been doing a lot of family events for the past 2 years, including my daughter’s birthday party few weeks back. The party held at local “we do dishes” place and I set up several Speedlight around the shop, but also used LightSphere on camera. I did similar work for years, but we usually had very close circle of friends/people we knew well and everybody was sharing pictures without any concerns or copyright demands.

This year was a different situation. My family recently relocated to Florida and we did not make many friends yet. So to make this birthday party meaningful for my child, she had invited some of her classmates she likes. Most of the parents were socializing during this 2.5 hour event and the party spieled over to our house afterwards. Some parents brought their own cameras, but many asked me to give them my pictures. I said I will and I did. All parents got hi-res pictures of their kids on CD for free. I did not consulted anyone about “privacy and children” situation, but to protect myself somehow from “strangers” (most of the parents I saw for the first time) I did extra work and re-arrange pictures for each child into two categories – single child portrait and group portraits. Every image with more than one child on it I “watermarked” with Copyright sign and my name. The single portraits are free from watermarks, just copyrighted in EXIF.