Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

end

Archive 2013 · Insurance for camera equipment

cputeq
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Insurance for camera equipment

ISO1600 wrote:
Be careful having gear listed as (valuable) personal property with your regular insurance provider.
A few years back, I had my Canon gear under my USAA renter's policy. One of my lenses (16-35L) got heavily damaged in an accident. USAA refused to cover it because when investigating the claim they found my flickr and thought I was a professional photograher.
At the time, I was a Senior Airman (E-4, USAF) living in a dorm room at Kunsan AB, South Korea. I was not and had not been receiving any income of any sort via my photography, but they didn't believe me.
They even
...Show more

Wow bummer. I use USAA but I specifically have their separate valuable items policy for my camera gear. From my coworkers stories they don't even ask for a police report (crime) or send an inspector now, they just cut you a check but will cancel you after two or so claims. (Supposedly).

I do know I claimed a $180 lost B&W CPL and they had no problem paying but I then found it and told them to void their check (which was already at my home). I haven't had to claim anything pricier yet

Oh thanks for your service! E-7 USAF here (and was E-4 in Army before now). Four more years left until I can punch out . I did a year in Korea but at Camp Casey. What a dump

To the OP if you can use USAA for the policy I have they charge 1% of total value every year.

Feb 02, 2013 at 06:53 PM
PSBaxter
• •
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Insurance for camera equipment

Tenn.Jer wrote: